Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marshmallowbubb
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yummy! Great cut up and dipped in peanut butter chocolate fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
The first time I made these, I misread the instructions and added the almond paste into the batter. It was the creates mistake ever!! It tastes like an almond croissant in cake form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Pretty tasty. My sister (the taste tester) said it was more like cake not pound cake. but, what does she know. It was delish. Will make again, love the almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Cake was very dry but flavor was good. Next time I will use some sour cream to add moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Adding some spices made it a lot better, but it was pretty good as is. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ziprose
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is absolutely wonderful! I made it two ways, to spruce it up a bit for a party. I first made mini bundts. This required halving the recipe. I also added quartered glaced cherries to the batter (as I was supposed to make an actual English Christmas Cake but got lazy and needed a cake that didn't need to ripen). If making in mini bundt pans, only about 25 minutes baking time is needed. For the glaze, I added almond extract and a splash of maraschino cherry juice. The second time I made this (this week) I made it full sized. Again, added cherries, even bothered to paint the marzipan holly leaves. Unfortunately, I killed the glaze by adding butter. In theory it should work and make a nice glaze that crisps up, however, I was impatient and didn't soften the butter correctly. If you are impatient like me, don't mess with the glaze. It is fine as it is (though almond extract really does help). I have a feeling I will be making this recipe yearly if not much more often. It really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I haven't done the whole almond paste leaf thing, but this pound cake is usually a success on its own. We like to have it with raspberry compote and whipped cream. I usually add 1/2 a cup of sour cream to make it less dry. I also bake it in 2 9 x 5 loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that used almond powder, and I found this; I replaced the almond extract by almond powder (I put a little less flour, about 1/4 cup less, and I put a quite large 1/4 cup of almond powder instead). It's yummy!! My family likes it a lot, but most especially my hubby who, however, doesn't have the biggest sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I think my boyfriend ate half of it in one sitting! I didn't have a bundt pan so I used two loaf pans and it turned out fine. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States