Almond Pear Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Had some very ripe bananas and wanted to do something new. Made these with GLUTEN FREE flours. Came out light, moist and very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I added a little more sugar to the recipe. I also actually didn't add the chopped almonds at all. Supplemented yogurt with thickened cream (since that was what I had in the fridge). Sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on each muffin. Totally delicious served slightly warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I thought the sweetness was perfect... perhaps because I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain, as that is what I had... but I can't imagine adding another whole cup of sugar. I wasn't afraid to put in the full teaspoon of almond extract, and I LOVED the flavour. It was a great way for me to use up some pears I had frozen when they were starting to turn. I'm going to make it again, but try applesauce instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Easy to make and find all the ingredients. I added more sugar and cinnamon as recommended. Also, I substituted the vegetable oil for coconut oil, and used almond milk. It needed more milk once I added the dry ingredients, and just added enough to get it to the right consistency. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
My husband really loved the flavor of these. I didn't have yogurt and used cottage cheese instead. I added more cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg as well as canned pears. I also put slivered almonds on top. I thought the sweetness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT! I didn't have plain yogurt, so I subbed in some Strawberry and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I loved these! What a great new idea for using freshly picked pears. I substituted the oil with applesauce because of my diet and they were sooo good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
These muffins positively need more sugar, at least for our taste preferences here! I would increase it to 3/4 or even 1 full cup of sugar, if you like them sweeter. (And our pears were very ripe and sweet---but they still need more help.) When I made them, I added an extra 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, added 1/4 tsp. ginger and doubled the nutmeg and cloves. I THINK with added sugar they might be pretty good. I was in a huge hurry, trying to get them made in time for my son to have with his smoothie before school, so cut the pear up in too large of chunks. I'd recommend to dice it in small cubes---and I used 2-1/2 small pears to make a heaping one cup. We didn't find them dry at all, the texture was nice. I did use King Arthur white whole wheat flour, which might have helped with the nice texture. I only used 3/4 tsp. almond extract, but could easily have used the full teaspoon, since I didn't taste the almond at all. Didn't add the chopped almond--and if I did, I would definitely use the blanched almond slices and chop them finely. Otherwise, like another reviewer said, you're going to have little rocks in your muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These are more like little cakes. In itself not a bad thing but not quite a satisfying texture for muffins. They're dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States