Almond Orange Crusted Chicken with Fennel Arugula Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was our first meal to begin a better effort to eat healthier. Gratefully, it was really good! The almonds provided a nice crunch to the chicken. The salad was a nice complement to the chicken, giving a nice citrus flavor. We gave up on using the fennel, but the meal didn't taste like it was missing anything. Even our 2.5 year old enjoyed the chicken. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
A nice combination of flavours and textures with the orange and lemon, and the crunch of the almonds. I used 3 chicken breasts, each sliced in half from the side for 6 portions, and baked them on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. I used all of the zest and the wedges from a large navel orange, but also added some additional orange wedges from a mandarin orange. Makes a nice presentation. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I selected this recipe because I had a lot of arugula in the fridge. I was hesitant because I don't usually like fennel, but followed the recipe exactly and am glad I did. I suggest making more almond/orange zest coating - I ran out after the third breast (although in fairness, they were thick breasts). My almond coating burned to the pan, so next time I'll try another reviewer's suggestion and use parchment paper. I'm not sure if it made a difference, but I marinated the chicken in OJ while I prepared the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenpete
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I really liked this my family did not like the orange flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
does anybody think a marmalade glaze would be good on top of this? or maybe like some type of orange-y type chutney?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
We loved this recipe! I pounded 4 chicken breast to about 1/2 inch thick. I didn't have enough almond mix so I had to make some more. I used whole almonds and pulsed them in a food processor. We loved the flavors in this. The licorice-y fennel (NOT the herb), sweet orange and spicy arugula went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This got mixed reviews in our house. I liked it a lot, it was very refreshing and healthy. Husband didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
So good!!!! I suggest buying more almonds. I didnt have fresh fennel so I used dried, still good but I''m sure fresh would have been much better. I also added shallots to the salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I was so impressed with this recipe. It was that good. Didn't make the salad but the chicken was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I only made the chicken. It's great that it's healthy but it does need some kind of orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States