Almond Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good and predictable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
these cookies are over the top delish! just the smell of the batter before baking sent me into cookie heaven! the only thing i can't figure out is where the star shape in the photo comes in? next time i need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I loved this recipe! And so did my class!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Hey what can I say, these are so yummie. It takes time to get it going, this is a recipie that you need to take slow and easy or you can get into a mess ( LOL ) I have also tried this recipie with pecans since I live in a town that over produces in pecans and it came out well (I just cooked the pecans in a butter and vanilla...yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe for years, before seeing this exact recipe. Everyone LOVES these cookies and asks me to make them year after year for Christmas. I do not do the meringue on top... My recipe calls to chill the batter overnight, then use as much confectioners sugar as necessary to roll out the sticky merigue batter and cut the star shapes... so the sugar mixes making a stiffer dough. It is very sticky and messy, you will think there is no way to roll out and cut shapes, add more confectioners sugar and work it in. Bake star shape exact same, you could top with the meringue before baking, I leave plain, they are very sweet. As I said EVERYONE LOVES them. The do crack easily though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I have always been terrified by meringue's and swore I would never even attempt them but I couldn't bring myself to throw away spare egg whites so I thought I'd give this a go and I was amazed at how easy it was and so yummy! I can't wait to make another batch, this is definitely going on my list of gluten free sweet treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Yes this is traditional German cookie and we called them Zimmstern (Cinnamon Stars) They are light and delicious and the combination of almond and citrus taste is nice. Nice texture contrast as the meringue is crunchy and the cookie is a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I love these! I used vanilla extract instead of lemon zest, soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
So I made these for my cooking class when we did Germany and my teacher was in awe. He couldn't believe that their was no flower or baking soda or anything in them besides the few ingredients. Thanks so much for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
The lemon zest makes this recipe so I doubled it the second time that I made them. I omitted the cinnamon as an other reviewer suggested. In stead of dropping by spoonful, I used my spritz gun. I sprinkled the unbaked cookies with yellow sugar and baked 8 minutes since the cookies were thin. Then drizzled with melted chocolate and sprinkled with chopped almonds! Yum! Important: do not over bake! Nothing worse that burnt meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States