Almond Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Hey what can I say, these are so yummie. It takes time to get it going, this is a recipie that you need to take slow and easy or you can get into a mess ( LOL ) I have also tried this recipie with pecans since I live in a town that over produces in pecans and it came out well (I just cooked the pecans in a butter and vanilla...yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
My comment is "I don't know what I have done wrong". The egg white never whips into stiff form. It is just liquid. I cannot put it onto the baking sheet b/c it is all liquid like milk. I whipped that eggwhite for over 10 mins and my ears almost fell off (the electric blender was too loud) but it was still like egg white. I bet it will taste good if I can bake it because the mixture taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABSCHICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
The group I made these for absolutely loved them. I thought they needed to be sweeter, and there was something about the texture that just did not appeal to me. I would make these again if requested, or pass on the recipe, but I myself was not too keen on them. (It's also a very expensive recipe to make with the high cost of almonds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I just tried making this recipe (with a few revisions to suit what I had on hand) and I also had the problem of the whites not stiffening up. I looked it up in an old family Betty Crocker cookbook- make sure the egg whites are at room temperature before starting. I used mine right out of the fridge, so I'm going to let it warm a bit and see if they'll whip up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I had the same problem with my Merengues not fluffing up until my mom (!) told me that letting the eggs warm up to room temperature (or close to it) makes all the difference. It works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I loved this recipe! And so did my class!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I have yet to make this but I am curious as to when you cut the star shapes. Do you roll it out and cut it obviously before baking? TIA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I have always been terrified by meringue's and swore I would never even attempt them but I couldn't bring myself to throw away spare egg whites so I thought I'd give this a go and I was amazed at how easy it was and so yummy! I can't wait to make another batch, this is definitely going on my list of gluten free sweet treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe for years, before seeing this exact recipe. Everyone LOVES these cookies and asks me to make them year after year for Christmas. I do not do the meringue on top... My recipe calls to chill the batter overnight, then use as much confectioners sugar as necessary to roll out the sticky merigue batter and cut the star shapes... so the sugar mixes making a stiffer dough. It is very sticky and messy, you will think there is no way to roll out and cut shapes, add more confectioners sugar and work it in. Bake star shape exact same, you could top with the meringue before baking, I leave plain, they are very sweet. As I said EVERYONE LOVES them. The do crack easily though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
In german these are called Nuss Stangel..these are also made with hazelnuts. My grandmother added the zest to the nut mixture instead of the meringe and a bit of lemon juice (no cinnamon) to the meringe for a more lemony taste. They are my favorite xmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States