Almond Mandarin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very yummy recipe! My only critique would be that the dressing is a tad pungent. We only used a little bit of it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
In a word - Fabulous! And, just as the submitter states, "oh so good and refreshing"! This was a great combination of flavors and gave a nice presentation. The dressing was spot on and like others I subbed dijon for the dry mustard. I opted for thin sliced red onion vs. green and topped this with grilled chicken. This was so easy to throw together and made for a tasty, light summer meal. All I had to do was serve it with warm rolls and a nice glass of wine! Thanks for a great recipe - it's one I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this salad. Sometimes I make it just for me as a lunch salad, and when I do this I don't use bacon. I put grilled chicken on the salad to make it more of a meal, and it is also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Wonderful - the salad dressing is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
A wonderful combination of sweet, crunchy and tang. I had a nice head of fresh red leaf lettuce which I tore into bite size pieces. I reduced the amount of olive oil called for. I used real dijon mustard instead of dry mustard, omitted the green onions due to personal preference. I adjusted the salad dressing while blending to my tastes, adding only a pinch of ground paprika, then chilled it before serving. I also took the 3/4 cup of slivered almonds and lightly toasted them in a pan with a little white sugar to give it a sweet carmelized crunch. The carmelized almonds added even more of a touch to the salad. I took a few strips of turkey bacon, instead of regular, baked it, cooled, crumbled over the salad. This gave it a light salty balance to the sweetness and tang already in the dressing. I chilled the mandarin oranges in the refrigerator as well. Right before dinner, I threw everything together and then poured the dressing lightly over everything. I really enjoyed this light and refreshing salad and is deserving of 5 stars in my book. I also like how I can adjust the dressing to my tastes if needed. You can even add a grilled chicken to the salad making it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This salad was a wonderful addition to my Easter brunch. I did have to make some changes, simply because I didn't have some ingredients I subsituted the hot mustard for regular dry mustard, to have the hot or spicey I used spicey paprika. I also used turkey bacon, simply for dietary issues. I found that the dressing was difficult to blend (I believe due to the honey) but found my teenage son to shake it up a bit. Not only is the presentation of this salad beautiful, I simply could not not get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made to changes Chicken for the bacon and mustard for the hot mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I cheated and used bacon bits instead of real bacon. Saves on time and also reduces the amount of fat. The salad itself is good, but the dressing is a very sweet. It's not something I would want to have for every meal, but o.k. once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very tasty! The bacon and almond adds bulk, and the dressing is a great combo of flavors. I made a vegan version with SmartLife veggie bacon, and I substituted agave nectar for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States