Almond Mandarin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This salad is great! Nice combination of flavors. I did not add the bacon and it was still a very good salad minus all the fat. Very easy to make. The dressing is also fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Loved this salad instead of using real bacon I used Smart Bacon (vegeterian) and didnt add all of the calories. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Outstanding salad, Barbara! For personal preference I cut the honey to 1 1/2T, added 1t Dijon in addition to the dry mustard, omitted celery salt and added 1/2c diced celery, and toasted the almonds. WONDERFUL FLAVOR and CRUNCH! Thanks much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Great dressing. Don't toss until just before eating and don't use too many oranges or the lettuce goes limp. Also, does dry hot mustard mean wasabi powder (a hot green mustard used in japanese cooking)? That's what I used and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I loved the salad but the dressing had a strong flavor of olive oil...Maybe a lighter oil would be better. I also only had dijon on hand (I'm in Europe, so it was French) and that gave a very sharp after taste, but that was my fault. Otherwise very eye appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I brought this to a dinner party and everyone there came back for second and third helpings. (And probably would have had more but it was gone) This is an excellent salad and the homemade dressing is fantastic! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This was VERY nice. A great blend of ingredients -- kind of sweet, but not TOO much so. I'll make it again and again. In fact, I have a pot-luck to attend this Friday and know it will be a hit with everyone, so I am making it for the third time in one week. Yum!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Loved this salad! Definitely recommend waiting until the last minute to toss with the dressing, and in my opinion it is better to add less than you think you need, and serve the rest at the table. I could not find white wine vinegar and used white vinegar instead. It worked. I also toasted the almonds before adding to the salad, and was sure to drain the mandarins really good! Do NOT save this salad as leftovers! You won't be able to eat it, make everyone have seconds! I'm sure they will want to anyway. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This was excellent. Made it for a dinner party and adults and kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Salad dressing needed some zip with fresh lemon juice. also substituted dried fruits for oranges and toasted the almonds. Great salad and dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAELMOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States