Almond Leche Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Pure vanilla extract works well with leche flan; you may also add a few lime or lemon zest to neautralize the taste of the egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Nice, a different touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
One cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of water never turns brown unless you cook it to a hard crack stage. NOT what you want in this recipe. Next time I would decrease the water by half and try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I give a four because the recipe needs help, but if you help it, it's delicious! First of all, try 1-2 teaspoons of almond extract instead of a tablespoon. Second, refer to the Perfect Flan article on how to make this dessert just right. Don't forget, if you precook the milk and temper the eggs with it, the oven bake time will be cut down, so keep an eye on it. Third, if you use ramekins, this recipe will probably not fill 8 of them. My ramekins are fairly small, and my flans came out very thin. I garnished my flans with toasted slivered almonds, French Lace Cookies II, and piped sweetened whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
The Philippine leche flan uses 9-10 egg yolk and 1 tbsp lemon juice added to the melted sugar. Vanilla extract is sometimes used to flavor, never almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
As it stands there is definitely too much almond flavor even for me. I have found that, if it is available where you live, substitute almond liqueur for the flavoring - a little more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
i dont know maybe i'm just not a flan person...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Good recipe. I'd recommend using more condensed milk though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I have some suggestions: I think 1 tablespoon almond extract is little bit too much; maybe ?teaspoon will be better. Instead of 6 egg yolks, I put 5 whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This did not taste like flan at all. It was way too sweet and had a strange taste to it. I follwed the recipe exactly so I am not sure what happened. If you are looking for a recipe for flan, this is not it. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States