Almond Kisses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've made these several times now thinking I must have done something wrong, and trying to get them to come out right. Don't get me wrong, these taste really good when they come out of the oven. The problem is the texture. They really don't puff up and look the way they do in the picture. They really just end up being piles of chopped nuts help together by a sugary glaze. They totally fall apart when you try to eat them. I have a feeling these would be really great if you ground the almonds down to almost the consistency of flour, but I don't have the patience to try them again to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
These cookies were great except that 30 minutes was way to long to set the timer to! At about 12 minutes they were done I believe. I'll make them again for sure and watch the timer better because they ended up a bit burnt :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wonderful and soooo flavorful!!!!!!!!! I made these cookies for the first time this past Christmas (I forgot to write a review than..). I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out PERFECT!!! I made them smaller though, so they were little bite sized pieces so you could just pop them in your mouth. My family still raves about them! They are sure to be a Christmas tradition treat from now on. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajiras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Savoury little bites! I actually was too lazy to chop the almonds by hand and put them in our coffee grinder :) and by delicious accident the cookies ended up having a bit of a coffee flavour to them. Next time i'll try a bit of our flavoured coffee! Great with a touch of cinnamon as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These were okay but not great. Used the recommended amount of sugar, but didn't think they were too sweet. These can't be classified as almond cookies as I had mistakenly thought of them at first, but more as a sweet nut confection. Don't know if I would make them again unless I'm really wanting an almond fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miyavi
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
these were really nice - easy to make in a rush, and people can't figure out what it's made of! i would recommend decreasing the amount of sugar, though. it was a bit too sweet for my taste. i used sliced almonds, although next time i would try using ground almonds, to improve the texture. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miyavi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
These cookies were good beyond belief - had to force myself to save some for the others to eat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Oh my gosh!!! What a hit! these were amazing! I gave them as gifts, and everyone who i gave them to has asked for the recipe! They are so tasty! And easy to make! Being lazy, instead of chopping them up by hand, i just roughly chopped them in a food processor. A little fiddly to shape, but just dump a small amount in a little pile (drop them off a small spoon...dont even try to shape them). I dusted them with some icing sugar at the end, which gave them a special touch! Fantastic, everyone should give them a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
Wheneveer I bake cookies, it usually doesn't turn out too well. But this turned out great, first my family was really skeptical about eating them. The first taste was a little different to me too. But after that, they couldnt stop. And the next morning when I woke up, all 2 dozen of them were gone. (they loved it with coffee)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States