Almond Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My family enjoyed this so much that I ended up making it twice this week! It's really good and easy to make. The only modification I made is that I used slightly less sugar (1/2 cup) the second time I made it, because I found the first try too sweet. We felt that it was still sweet enough with only 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I grew up making this with my mom so it's such a nostalgic treat!! I substitute soymilk now since I've become lactose intolerant. Don't pass this up - it's so so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love to add fruit cocktails in this. I also halve the milk into 1 cup of milk, and substitute the other cup of milk of 1 cup of table cream milk (nestle kind). I noticed when I use kiwis or pineapple, they seem to become icky. I found that if I blanched fruits like kiwi, figs, guava, pineapple, gingerroot and papaya, the enzymes are gone. Also, fruits in heavy syrup, fresh seedless grapes, canned peaches, canned pears, and fruit cocktail sink. Fresh fruit, fruit in light syrup, including fresh orange and lemon slices, sliced apples, peaches, or bananas float.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I had a craving for this the other day and was SO happy to find this recipe. I upped the almond to 2 tsp, cause I wanted to make sure it really had an almond flavour, and it was great. The only thing I might change is to lessen the amount of liquid so that the jello is more firm. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This is so good, so refreshing. I would suggest using the fruit cocktail with extra cherries "Very Cherry" I believe its called. I used whole milk, turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very nice and light. so easy to make. Served with fresh fruit salad. As per other reviews, I reduced the sugar to only 1/2 cup and it was sweet enough. I might use more gelatin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome! I loved this the first time I made it, making it again tonight! Tastes creamy yet firm and just the right amount of almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennalee003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I couldn't find agar agar so I tried this gelatine-based recipe. I used less sugar too (1/2 cup) but still turned out to be too sweet. I also substituted part of the milk with evaporated milk (like 1/2 cup of evaporated milk and 1 1/2 cup of milk) to get a stronger milk taste but it probably added to the overall sweetness. And I used less water (like 1.75 cups in total) for a firmer texture. The traditional recipe with agar agar uses 1/4 oz agar powder, 2 cup water, 1/5 cup milk, 1/5 evaporated milk, and few drops of almond extract. Procedures are the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is a quick standby for a classic Chinese dessert. It took minutes to prepare and set within hours. The only modification I made the first time round was to reduce the sugar from 3/4 to 2/3 cup. It was still plenty sweet especially with canned fruit cocktail in syrup, so I may reduce the sugar a bit more the next time round. Classic almond jello is made with agar agar, and I have yet to find a good recipe for this. Gelatin has a slightly different texture, more spring and elasticity, but is a good substitute. My toddler loves it, and it's a good way to get calcium in him! The next times I try it, I will experiment with unsweetened soy instead of milk, using 3 cups milk to 1 cup water, substituting coconut milk for 1 cup of milk, etc. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
As many have said, this isn't like the Asian-style almond jelly in texture because this recipe calls for gelatin as opposed to agar-agar (sp.?). However, it is tasty and a great addition to a fruit salad whether you're using fresh or canned fruit. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar (it was still plenty sweet; will use less next time) and 2 tsps. of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States