Almond French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
A friend had a "pot luck brunch" and this recipe was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
we enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Delicious! The almond extract really makes the flavor of these amazing french toast. The sliced almonds added a delightful crunch. Be sure to cook it over low heat so that the thick slices cook completely. I didn't make a single change to the recipe and it came out awesome. One caution--I was surprised by how many people don't like nuts. My sister-in-law and my niece did not care for them, so they didn't like this dish. So next time, I'd ask people beforehand what their preference is. But for nut lovers, this dish is too marvelous to be believed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
yummy. hope you enjoy! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This isn't your ordinary French Toast! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I disagree with the previous review. This recipe is not at all bland. It is delicious!!! The only thing I would change would be to add a little bit of sugar. I would like to try it next time w/ a different nut, cuz I am nuts for nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
YUM! I didn't have any almonds on hand, which is a bummer for me because I'm a nut for nuts, but good for my kids because they think nuts will kill them. Next time, I will definately make sure I have some for mine! I also didn't leave it in the fridge long enough, because we couldn't wait! I left it in for about 20 minutes. The bread did stick to the waxed paper, but not that bad. My only problem was that the batter only coated about 7 slices, not 12 as the recipe states. But that's okay. I'll double it with no problem. I think it was missing something, though I'm not quite sure what. I think I'll try using a little nutmeg next time like another rating suggested. The kids used butter and maple syrup, my husband used butter and powdered sugar, and I used margarine and apricot preserves. The best part of it all is that my hubby loves French toast, but neither myself nor my kids care for it. Now we can all be happy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
The batter dip was really good. I didn't care for the almonds too much since they were bland. Perhaps adding some sugar to the toasting of the almonds would help the flavor. Other than that, it was a good recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
FANTASTIC SERVED FOR CHRISTMAS BRUNCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
~try this if you are sick of the regular french toast!!!!!!!!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States