Almond French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The flavour of the almond extract combined with the crunch of the sliced almonds makes this a delicious option for a special breakfast. I have made these numerous times. The step of toasting the almonds may be skipped over entirely as the nuts will brown while the french toast are face-down on the griddle. I use MUCH MORE mixture than is called for in this recipe. I suppose the amount required depends on the thickness of the slices + the size of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this Sunday morning for my husband and two sons, who are very hard to please, and it came out great. I didn't have almonds but it came out just fine with out. Delicious with maple syrup. Mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Exitaisle
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this in a cast iron pan using halves of sour dough buns, two pear halves each. Got raves and people coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was very filling and very tasty. I may have sliced my bread a bit to thick but other than that my husband and I both enjoyed it. My son really did not so I put four starts because chances are if we all aren't going to eat it I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de'Monfort

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Yummy!! Used a little bit of butter instead of canola oil and I did not brown the almonds first as they got plenty of browning while they cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Badpen
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this for Valentine's Day brunch and my fiancee and I LOVED it! It was a bit time consuming (mostly just waiting the hour for the bread to soak in the batter), but it was well worth it. I would definitely worth it, especially for those who love Almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The almonds were an ok addition, but it definitely made frying the toast more difficult. You really had to have the fryers on low if you want the toast to cook evenly. I'm not sure the difference was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipes is AWESOME! Every time we go to my brother-in-laws for brunch, this is the requested thing for us to bring. There is never any left. ai make it as is, just don't toast the almonds before cooking the french toast. I found they burned if toasted and then toasted again when cooking the toast. Thank you for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was a hard one to make, I couldn't get the almonds to stick while it cooked. I will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was not a good recipe. It had no hint of a french toast taste. It was also difficult to cook. My boyfriend liked it that's why it got 2 stars. If you do try it, I wouldn't use french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States