Almond Flour Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Heavenly! I am allergic to wheat and gluten so this is great! I woke up this morning and wondered what to make for breakfast, luckily I checked my email first and found this recipe. It's a keeper! I took some mixed berries from the freezer and microwaved them with a little Splenda to serve over them and broke out the yogurt as you suggested.Yummm! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This recipe will go straight to my collection! Ok, these have an amazing flavor and bite to them. They are a bit on the sweet side, so they would go great with a simple fresh fruit topping and some plain old-fashion whipped cream. One thing I would like to mention is that they do not have the crispness or cakeyness of waffles; they have more of a pancake texture. That said, I would still make them in the waffle iron, as they shape up beautifully. Thanks nmyers11!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The description below the title: "these crispy waffles" must not refer to this recipe. These were not the least bit crisp. I was very disappointed. I should have know better judging from the amount of almond flour to eggs. They were tasty, but flimsy like an omelet or crepe. A surprise result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCASSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These waffles definitely do not have a waffle texture. As other reviewers stated, they are soft and flimsy and I would say almost rubbery. But.. the flavor is absolutely amazing. I made these for my children who are on a dairy/soy/gluten/sugar free diet. And if it were up to them they would eat them all day long! We don't put anything on them, they are very sweet themselves. But I'm sure they would be great with some fresh fruit. NOTE: I have recently read that the brand of Almond Meal/Flour can make a big difference in the consistency of the waffles! So experimenting with different brands might be an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by markmetom
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This recipe saved my life! I can't eat sugar nor white flour and I absolutely loved these waffles. I uploaded a picture after my second try at them. The only change I made was substituting honey with agave syrup. I also added some raspberries before putting the batter in the waffle iron but putting them on top of the waffles is also delightful! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am on a grain free diet and these were wonderful. The kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are really good. Because we're not on any special diet restrictions we'll only use 2 eggs and add milk next time. The texture was a bit rubbery, but didn't put us off at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My husband followed the recipe exactly, cooked on the lowest setting on our waffle iron, and they came out really dark, bitter, burnt-tasting and with a terrible texture. I will definitely not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHESSA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This recipe has some potential. My husband and I are fairly strict paleo eaters and so I did reduce the honey and added cinnamon to make up for the flavor. Like many of the reviewers I did not think these were crispy at all. I ended up baking my waffles for a few minutes at 350 to give them more crunch. It seems like there is too much moisture in the recipe-- perhaps one less egg next time. I also used coconut oil to grease my waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hatcherooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
A bit too eggy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States