Almond Flour Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This one needs some adjustments. These lovely ingredients became dry inedible slabs. I followed advice in the comments and did half almond and half coconut flour and I kept my waffle iron on the lowest setting. The batter was like cookie dough, not runny at all, and I ended up with strange dry dense biscuity things. The flavor couldn't save it, and there was only a hint of flavor. If the ingredients lure me again I will try adding some kind of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was very good I used 3eggs and the texture came out great. Just have to keep an eye on it because it cooks really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Love the taste. I tried subsituting meal for flour, maybe next time half flour, half meal. They do cook quickly and get way too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I followed one reviewer's (untested?) advice and whipped egg whites with a pinch of cream of tartar. Good idea, but if you follow the rest of the recipe exactly there's no way to blend the whites with the rest of the batter - the other stuff is too stiff - so here's what I did: 3 eggs, separated 1/4 cup almond milk pinch cream of tartar Mix egg yolks, honey, milk vanilla and dry ingredients. Beat egg whites to stiff peaks and fold into egg-yolk mixture. Because of personal preference, I cut back on the honey by about a tablespoon. I added cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg (batter smelled like custard and nutmeg goes with custard). I filled my 1 cup measure most of the way up with loosely packed almond meal (trader joe's), then topped off the last 1/2 inch of the measuring cup with a mix of oat flour and corn meal (medium grind). The oat flour helps things stick a little, the corn meal adds a bit of crunch, neither adds gluten. Waffles were delicious with a fluffy texture - not crisp on the outside, but not super rubbery either. Topped with cherry compote and greek yogurt. One note - Almond flour is usually HIGH FAT - this is why the recipe doesn't need any oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I try to make a recipe as written to see how it works out, & most important, to see if my family likes it. Unfortunately, this recipe was not well recieved by my family. The eggs, baking soda, & honey called for was too much for a single cup of almond flour & I should have caught that. My results following the recipe was soft, almost flabby waffles. I re-made the waffles with changes suggested by my celiac friend >> 3/4 cup almond flour, 1/8th teaspoon salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 2 large eggs, 1 1/2 tablespoons honey & dollop or two of buttermilk if needed. Had much better sucess the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I have made these for a long time - just as listed. I have a heat control on my waffle iron so cook them at a lower temp for longer and they do get crispy. We also make them while camping in the pie irons / bush pie makers over the campfire - those get CRISPY So many allergies in the family and these are safe for all and no one knows they are anything but "breakfast" Personally I prefer them cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The taste of this recipe is very yummy, texture is kind of soft but it is still good. One suggestion that I have for the people who are trying to follow the paleo diet is using unsweetened apple sauce instead of honey and maybe using half coconut flour and half almond flour and use sea salt. This will add the sweetness without the honey and will be paleo. Although, I am not sure if this recipe is supposed to be paleo but if you wanted to make it paloe thats what I would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I am a strick Paleo eater and this was great way to feel like I was getting a sweet/bread type meal... I used agave instead of honey and some cinnamon. I only had 3 eggs in the house so that is what I used and I don't think the recipe needs a 4th. As others have said, they don't crisp up but the flavor makes up for that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Suggestion for improving the texture of this batter: If due to allergies you cannot add a different flour with more gluten (which would be one way to make these more waffley), then I suggest separating the egg whites. We do this when making wheat waffles to add lift and fluffiness, and it should work here. Just make the recipe as directed but before adding the eggs, separate the egg whites. Then whisk the egg whites to stiff peaks before very gently folding them back into the batter. Whisking to stiff peaks is tough - I suggest using electric mixers and you may need a stablizer such as cream of tarter. But this should help the texture tremendously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States