Almond Flour Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent flavor and texture. I doubled the alomnd flour to reach to correct consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These are perfect for the gluten free and paleo people in my family. I'm experimenting making it into pasta substitute, sans honey/sweetners. Beating the egg whites until stiff is a good suggestion and gives body. I also tried brushing the waffle iron with clarified butter (Ghee), cooked the waffle until crisp, and came out with something tasting like a butter cookie. Thanks NMyers11, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
These are actually pretty good! the texture isn't as bAd as I thought it would be... very good flavor. they turned brown alot faster than traditional waffles... so my first one was a little dark. Very little carbs.. can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I did as another commenter suggested and whipped the egg whites to a stiff peek (with half a tsp of cream of tartar) before adding it to the rest of the batter. It was definitely a light and fluffy batter, and the waffle, although not crispy, is definitely not pancake like as other commenters suggested. Whipping the egg whites is the way to go. It was perfect with fruit and yogurt. So yummy. Oh, and I also added cinnamon to the batter, and will perhaps increase the vanilla next time. But, really, I didn't AT ALL feel like I was eating a gluten free product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made one with the recipe as is and it was way too soft so I added more blanched almond flour for the next one. Then I tried adding a little oil, then more flour and a little milk trying to get a crispy waffle. Didn't work - I don't want to go through the trouble of whipping egg whites. If I wanted a soft aqnd fluffy breakfast food item I would have made pancakes. They also do burn VERY easy as another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Just made this today for Easter breakfast/lunch after church. I loved it. My husband not so much but that is okay because it just leaves more for me! They are very soft & not very waffle like & that is why I like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
High Altitude adjustment (6700 ft) Add one additional cup of almond flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very good, my family loved these waffles. I will make them again. Served them with yogurt and berries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Better than regular waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My first impressions: *very* strong egg flavor, not crispy, and a very light flavor/sweetness. Some may like this, but didn't really rock my boat. Now, since I read through many reviews before attempting this, I did do some things differently from the original recipe. Because I didn't have much almond flour, I used a mixture of flours (1/2 c almond, 1/4 c rice, 1/4 c sorghum); and I also separated the eggs and beat the whites before adding to the rest of the mixture. My thought was these modifications would improve the texture (I've read rice flour makes things crispier). So, overall result: It was okay, and I plan to make again, but with some modifications. Next time I will try using 2 eggs and add some almond milk for more liquid. I will probably increase the amount of rice flour I use. I may also add a bit more honey or a bit of sugar (maybe brown?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States