Almond Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
This was, surprisingly, a little bland. However, after it soaked into the cake a little longer (2nd day)it tasted delicious. I made a three layer cake and put this between one layer and an apricot filling between the other layer. They complimented each other well. I topped it off with Special Buttercream Frosting also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This filling is a basic custard, very nice texture. I did need to add more amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I did not have any luck with this filling. It turned out very lumpy and smelled bad. I didn't even get past that to find out what it tasted like. I'm not sure what happened, if it was me or the receipe. I guess I'll have to give it another try to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is good. A the consistency of a thin pudding. Great on chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Perfect for my petit fours! Not too heavy of a taste, but just enough! I love the custard texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I substituted almond extract for amaretto liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Maybe it was something I did wrong, but it tasted like tapioca pudding to me. I will NEVER use this again. I didn't put this on my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I just made this and loved it, I am a chef and making a cake for a friend that loves almonds. I didn't have the liquor so I used almond extract, I just used a little bit more almond extract, about 1 or 2 teaspoons, and I put in one tbsp of vanilla extract. I would recomment this to anyone, it's super easy and good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Butler Sinclair

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I used 1 T almond extract and 1t. vanilla. It has a little too much extract taste from the almond but I'm using this in some bread pudding so hopefully this will be ok for that. It is a little bland too. I love almond flavored desserts and cookies so a little disappointing. To keep this from clumping, you need to consantantly stir with a whisk. It starts out clumpy but it will stir out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Not so good. Grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States