Almond Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This custard is so easy and delicious, and it's a great way to use up leftover egg yolks. I made it with whole milk powder and vanilla flavor (instead of almond) and served it with apple pastries, and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Works great in chocolate cake. I used with Hershey's Chocolate Cake (on this website) and frosted with buttercream icing....rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Fabulous and so easy! I filled a white cake with this and added an almond flavored white frosting, sprinkled with some slivered almonds. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
DELICIOUS!!! I was a bit wary at first because of the smell of the non-fat dry milk, but once I added the almond extract, that dissapeared. I cannot stop sticking my fingers in it! (Using it as a filling for the Cream of Coconut Cake along with the Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is great cake filling, just be sure to chill it or your layers will slide apart. Great when used with with decorator icing that also has almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I have had trouble making custard fillings in the past, but this one is foolproof. I used this in a chocolate almond cake. I added 1 oz. of semisweet chocolate when I took it off the heat. It gave it a hint of chocolate and a nice chocolate color for the cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Yup this is very good and easy. Didn't have to change a thing and it was just the right taste and amount to fill a cake. I made a layered cake, cut the layers in two, and filled each layer dividing the filling in thirds. I think it works better that way otherwise I can imagine if you used all of the filling in one layer it might seep out a bit. I did also chill the filling first too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Good recipe. Loved the flavor and consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is WONDERFUL. I love how nearly everything in this recipe can be kept on-hand in the pantry. The texture and sweetness were perfect. I was leery of the amount of almond extract so I used only 1/2 teaspoon, which was perfect for me. I used this to fill an orange cake with orange white chocolate frosting. Looking forward to playing around with different flavors. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States