Almond Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is WONDERFUL. I love how nearly everything in this recipe can be kept on-hand in the pantry. The texture and sweetness were perfect. I was leery of the amount of almond extract so I used only 1/2 teaspoon, which was perfect for me. I used this to fill an orange cake with orange white chocolate frosting. Looking forward to playing around with different flavors. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
The flavor wasn't offensive, but the aftertaste burned my throat- too much almond extract I think. It also lacked any depth and texture. After making a small batch, I remade the recipe. In place of water I substituted a 50% mixture of skim milk and fat free 1/2&1/2. I also reduce the almond by 1/2 and substituted vanilla for the other 1/2. This made for a thick and rich finished product that was much better than the original recipe(as several people can attest). The only other change I will make in the future is to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, and reduce the cornstarch to 1-1&1/2 Tablespoons because with the new recipe it came out more like pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Good recipe. Loved the flavor and consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Yup this is very good and easy. Didn't have to change a thing and it was just the right taste and amount to fill a cake. I made a layered cake, cut the layers in two, and filled each layer dividing the filling in thirds. I think it works better that way otherwise I can imagine if you used all of the filling in one layer it might seep out a bit. I did also chill the filling first too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I have had trouble making custard fillings in the past, but this one is foolproof. I used this in a chocolate almond cake. I added 1 oz. of semisweet chocolate when I took it off the heat. It gave it a hint of chocolate and a nice chocolate color for the cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is great cake filling, just be sure to chill it or your layers will slide apart. Great when used with with decorator icing that also has almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
DELICIOUS!!! I was a bit wary at first because of the smell of the non-fat dry milk, but once I added the almond extract, that dissapeared. I cannot stop sticking my fingers in it! (Using it as a filling for the Cream of Coconut Cake along with the Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Fabulous and so easy! I filled a white cake with this and added an almond flavored white frosting, sprinkled with some slivered almonds. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Works great in chocolate cake. I used with Hershey's Chocolate Cake (on this website) and frosted with buttercream icing....rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States