Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Darla O
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Other than doubling the almond extract I followed the recipe. The cake was tasty, but not a light-fluffy crumb; the frosting turned out fine with just a bit extra powdered sugar to help consistency, but I just felt it was vet, very sweet. Recipe for frosting was easily twice as much as needed. I'm still undecided whether or not I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent! Also reserved some caramel to drizzle over tops. Sweet, unique, and delicious while using common ingredients. Exactly what I was going for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
A to the mazzzzzing. I made these for my friends bridal shower and they were a big hit. The cake was moist and delicious, the frosting was spot on and the Carmel was superb! Very good recipe and easy to follow. I did as other reviewers and doubled the almond extract, it's a must to get that punch of flavor. Also I'm not a fan of margarine so I used all butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Amazing. Everyone loved them. The frosting was a little runny though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was so easy I'm 13 and could make this alone. It was also really moist and the frosting was to die for. I made this for my parents wine club and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
These were really good. I almost followed the recipe exactly, but I don't keep salted butter in the house so I used unsalted butter in place of the salted butter and margarine. I also ended up adding another cup of confectioner's sugar, like some of the other reviewers stated. It would have made more than 12, I scoop with 1/4 cup scoop so every cupcake is the same size. I also had more icing than I needed, quite a bit more, maybe twice what I needed. I brought some to work and they were a hit. I even passed them out before I had tried one because I didn't finish them until shortly after midnight last night. I figured I could risk it though because they are just so darn pretty! Thanks BakinMama for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Other than adding 1/4t salt & subbing with salted butter, I followed this recipe. Quite a shock considering I usually don't - sometimes on purpose, sometimes not. :) These were good. I had a minibakeoff with Marianne's Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes. I liked them a little better. These are soft & have a light yellow color. They're more yellow than Sweet Vanilla. I didn't make the frosting, but I'm going to have to. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I did add an extra teaspoon for almond and love the result. I also added buttermilk instead of milk. I am sure it would have been fine with just milk but I am used to use buttermilk. This recipe deserves more attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Amazing. Made this for the adults at a kid party. They were a huge hit! I'll make them again, but not any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I loved this cake! I made the cupcakes three times in a week when I tried them. I did follow some of the notes left by others. I only used unsalted butter because when I tried margarine, the caramel separated and did not work well. I definitely recommend doubling the almond extract, too. Also I traded the milk for 1cup buttermilk as another noted and adjusted the baking powder and added baking soda as she said (thanks ChefCourtKnee !!!) The texture was amazing! I love using buttermilk in cakes now. Sometimes if I don't have buttermilk I make some by adding about 1tbsp of vinegar to 1 cup milk and leaving it to sit for 5-10 min before I use it. The results are the same as buying buttermilk at the store. The frosting recipe is a little sweet for my taste, but others said they loved it. I would definitely give the recipe five stars, especially with the changes others suggested. Thanks everyone for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States