Almond-Crusted Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great recipe, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
We loved this recipe! I've made a chicken version of this and I always run out of the almond mixture. For three filets of tilapia, I left all the measurements this same and I didn't run out. I also used egg whites and omitted the butter and used some olive oil instead. I also used garlic powder since I didnt have garlic pepper. I didn't have fresh parma cheese so used the grated topping for spaghetti and it was fine, since it's all I had. It was excellent on will become a regular dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent recipe! Just made it last night and it was a complete hit. No doubt the butter helps to make the end flavor terrific. I could also see using this breading recipe for orange roughy or other mild fish. I only had three filets and ended up using most of the egg mixture and much of the breading mixture as well. If serving this for a large group I would advise increasing the egg mixture and making sure you have extra almonds and cheese for the actual breading. Also, while the butter definitely helps with the flavor I may try finding any alternative next time to cut the calories. (But boy was the buttery flavor good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! I never know what to do with fish since it's not all that filling. The almonds gave the fish a more hearty texture. Very filling, and very healthy too! I'll definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this for a group of friends, some of whom watch what they eat. I switched the butter for olive oil and used less parm in the crust and none on top. Just the lemon and parsley made a light garnish. Served with brown rice. Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Absolute Outstanding! This is one of the few recipes that I've ever made where I would not change one thing. I do my Tilapia on the BBQ in a fish grilling rack and this produced the most wonderful crispy golden browned almond crust ever. Spray both side of the basket with Pam before placing the coated fillets in. I do most of my BBQ'ing on medium (MOM) so I left the fillets on for about 7 minutes total per side turning twice until the crust on each side was a golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Oh Wow! We are not big fish fans, so believe me when I say this recipe is great! It will be in our regular rotation. The only thing I will change in the future is to season the flour instead of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Tilapia is about the only fish I can get my family to eat, and up until now, our favorite recipe has been the Broiled Tilapia Parmesan on the AllRecipes site. However, my husband thinks this tilapia is even better! I used packaged Italian Parmesan flavored almonds and a freshly grated three-cheese blend. I also substituted garlic salt for the garlic pepper since I have never seen the latter in my grocery store. The previous reviewer mentioned that the almond mixture didn't go far enough, so I used 1-1/2 cups of almonds and 1-1/2 cups of cheese for five fillets. (I have no idea how much each one weighed.) It was barely enough! I had to end up increasing the flour, too, and I should have used three eggs because my last fillet was barely moistened. The end result was wonderful, though. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Easy, fast and delicious, from ingredients I had on hand. Definately a keeper. I made roasted asparagus and a salad as sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My boyfriend loved this. Usually he is pretty reserved in his judgements, but the first bite he took he said "Mmm this is good!" I didn't use as much cheese on top as it called for and I thought it was good but he sprinkled more on his. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make a healthier version of Parmesan-crusted tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States