Almond-Crusted Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I've now made this a few times, I did add some lemon pepper to the dusting flour and use eggbeaters for the egg... this is perfect everytime, I've also used orange roughy with this also amazing. I do make a lot of the crust mixture and just put left over in the freezer for the next time. Oh, and I bake this instead of frying, I spray with pam and put in the oven at 425 or so and flip half way (time depending on how thick the fillets are) and spray again and put back in, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
What a great recipe! I made this last night for my husband and he loved it! I did make just a few minor changes to this wonderful recipe! I did not add the lemon (I didn't have any on hand), and I added a salt-free garlic and herb mixture to the eggs instead of what the recipe called for. Once the tilapia was coated, I put it on a baking sheet, sprayed it with some cooking spray, and cooked it at 375 for about 30 minutes. The coating was crispy and the fish was moist. Thanks for such a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I made this last night for my bf and a friend; and I think my bf told me at least a couple times throughout dinner how good it was, and then again later on in the night how much he liked it. It is definitely better than the other tilapia recipe on the site (Broiled Parmesan Tilapia), although both are good. The almonds with the tilapia and cheese were awesome. I cooked basically according to the recipe... but also seasoned the flour rather than the egg wash. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and peas. Also, the lemon garnish at the end should be included, it added that extra zest and accented all the flavors perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I wish I could rate this higher, especially since it really was pretty good once I tinkered with it. Unfortunately, there are some problems with the recipe as I see it. First, you'll need more of the ground almonds/Parmesan to coat your filets - I ran short. Second, medium-high is too high a temperature, especially since you're frying these in butter, which has a low burning temperature. I used medium heat to fry the fish in a mixture of butter and olive oil. Third, after frying the fish on each side for 3 minutes, it was done! I can't imagine cooking it another 5 minutes once you sprinkled it with more Parmesan, which leads me to four, MORE Parmesan cheese? No - there's plenty in the mixture the filets were coated with. And you sure don't want to cover it, which would only turn the coating soggy. So in a nutshell, fry the fish coated with a mix of Parmesan and ground almonds (the seasonings were fine) for a few minutes on each side on medium heat in a mixture of olive oil and butter. Serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Tilapia is about the only fish I can get my family to eat, and up until now, our favorite recipe has been the Broiled Tilapia Parmesan on the AllRecipes site. However, my husband thinks this tilapia is even better! I used packaged Italian Parmesan flavored almonds and a freshly grated three-cheese blend. I also substituted garlic salt for the garlic pepper since I have never seen the latter in my grocery store. The previous reviewer mentioned that the almond mixture didn't go far enough, so I used 1-1/2 cups of almonds and 1-1/2 cups of cheese for five fillets. (I have no idea how much each one weighed.) It was barely enough! I had to end up increasing the flour, too, and I should have used three eggs because my last fillet was barely moistened. The end result was wonderful, though. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I don't usually review recipes because I am usually very happy with the results but this one really gave me a hard time. The breading clumped together on the filets and there wasn't enough to coat all of them. The breading fell off in the pan and stuck to it. I used butter in stainless steel cookware on medium heat. The tilapia ended up in pieces. I really don't know what went wrong. It was edible, just disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very tasty recipe. I used olive oil instead of butter, and sub. Mrs. Dash for the lemon pepper and garlic pepper, and my whole family of picky eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent recipe! Just made it last night and it was a complete hit. No doubt the butter helps to make the end flavor terrific. I could also see using this breading recipe for orange roughy or other mild fish. I only had three filets and ended up using most of the egg mixture and much of the breading mixture as well. If serving this for a large group I would advise increasing the egg mixture and making sure you have extra almonds and cheese for the actual breading. Also, while the butter definitely helps with the flavor I may try finding any alternative next time to cut the calories. (But boy was the buttery flavor good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I always double the Parmesan except this time I used Asiago and ground almond. I also baked it at 350-375 for 30 minutes. I coated the glass baking dish w/ Pam (olive oil). I added pads of butter around the fish and added fresh broccoli crowns. I sprinkled the top w/ the remaining almond and Asiago mixture and a couple more pads of butter. I also squeezed a fresh lemon over the top and covered with tin foil. I definitely will be baking this recipe rather than cooking in a pan in future. It was much easier and the fish came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I'm on the verge of giving this recipe 5 stars for the simple reason that it got my young daughter to eat fish! She HATES fish and will not eat it. But she ate almost half a fillet and would've eaten more if I had made more! I'm simply amazed! However, my husband didn't like this recipe as much as another tilapia recipe I make, so I have to give it 4 stars. It is an excellent recipe, however, and definitely one to make occasionally when looking for a change from the norm. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make a healthier version of Parmesan-crusted tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States