Almond-Crusted Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is the best fish recipe I've ever made. Everyone in my family loves it, including my father-in-law who ordinarily doesn't like fish, and my 4-year-old daughter. The only changes I made to the recipe was the seasoning: I used one tsp lemon herb seasoning, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp pepper since I don't have lemon or garlic pepper on hand. I also mix it with the dredging flour rather than the beaten egg. As another reviewer mentioned, cooking on medium at 3 min. per side was plenty of time, and you still get a crispy coating. I've used this recipe with tilapia, swai, and pollock, and it's been terrific every time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Delicious!! I used 1/2 cup of parm, 1/2 cup of almond meal, and 1/2 cup of coconut flakes for the crust. I let the tilapia sit in the fridge in the juice of 2 lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis R Apellaniz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Awesome dish! I substituted pecans for the almonds b/c that's what I had on hand. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Very good. Had trouble getting almonds to stick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I used this recipe but instead of frying, I baked the fish for 30 minutes at 350 degrees at the suggestion of another reviewer. The fish was a little overdone, next time I would cook it for a shorter time. The flavor was perfect and the crunchy breading made the overcooked fish not matter. Will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natcatratbat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I wish I could rate this higher, especially since it really was pretty good once I tinkered with it. Unfortunately, there are some problems with the recipe as I see it. First, you'll need more of the ground almonds/Parmesan to coat your filets - I ran short. Second, medium-high is too high a temperature, especially since you're frying these in butter, which has a low burning temperature. I used medium heat to fry the fish in a mixture of butter and olive oil. Third, after frying the fish on each side for 3 minutes, it was done! I can't imagine cooking it another 5 minutes once you sprinkled it with more Parmesan, which leads me to four, MORE Parmesan cheese? No - there's plenty in the mixture the filets were coated with. And you sure don't want to cover it, which would only turn the coating soggy. So in a nutshell, fry the fish coated with a mix of Parmesan and ground almonds (the seasonings were fine) for a few minutes on each side on medium heat in a mixture of olive oil and butter. Serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I tried this recipe out on some wild cod fillets and it was delectable. I've been using only stainless steel skillets for quite awhile for everything from eggs to crepes with no problem, but now I'm going to invest in a non-stick skillet just for this parmesan-loaded recipe! I really blew my diet, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was the bent thing ever! love, loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlitas_way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This wasn't the easiest nor cleanest recipe to make but it was extremely tasty! I will make again but next time I'll lower the heat so to not brown the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My wife and I made this tonight for dinner. It was very easy to make and tasted very good. We often eat Tilapia and this was a nice recipe. I think I will try it with thin sliced chicken breast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make the perfect, super-fast weeknight fish recipe.

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make a healthier version of Parmesan-crusted tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States