Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Oh my gosh, this was wonderful. I used chopped macadamia nuts instead of almonds. With this substitution this dish was upscale restaurant quality and reminded us of one of our favorite dishes in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Wow! This is a great recipe! I doubled the buerre blanc recipe because it wouldn't be enough for four people as is; I also think half and half will work fine for the sauce because it's quite thick using heavy cream. I minced the shallots etc. for the buerre blanc and didn't strain it; I like it with some texture and colour. Make sure you watch the fish under the broiler as the topping will burn quickly. This would go very well with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this for my anniversary dinner tonight. We both thought it was delicious. I might only use half the amount of vinegar and lemon juice next time as the sauce was a little tart for my husband's taste. I loved it like it was, though. I was unable to find fresh halibut so had to use frozen fillets. They were only about 1/2" -3/4" thick but worked fine. I also tried this on a couple of tilapia fillets and it was good, but not as good as the halibut. Thanks for a fancy, memorable dinner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This fish was good, but I would not call it great. We also did not have enough sauce for it to make an impact on the taste. Fresh squeezed lemon was a must to give this fish some flavor. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Susan W, this recipe is divine; thank you to you & your future MIL! I've been wanting to make it for ages and finally got a beautiful halibut filet at Costco today that begged to be used for this! This was absolutely delicious but how could it not be with the butter and cream in it?! Definitely a company-worthy, fine meal. Served it with "Thyme Green Beans with Almonds" from this site, as well as steamed basmati rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Wow, absolutely fantastic. I doubled the sauce and made no other changes. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I thought it tasted good but what doesn't with heavy cream and butter. I only gave it four stars because I thought it was fussy to make. Too many dirty dishes. I also do not like the amount of calories and fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Pretty good. I thought the sauce was a little bland. Next time I will decrease the lemon and add some sage or something else to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I used Tilapia instead of Halibut and it was a cheaper but oh so good substitution for this dish. Very yummy and worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This recipe was Fantastic!! I love shallots so I kept them in the sauce, it gave it a lovely texture. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it is a keeper! We just came back from a Halibut fishing trip so I am trying a bunch of halibut recipes, this is the best so far!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States