Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I have to admit this was really delicious. Although the ingredients are pricey and the preparation of mincing almonds took awhile. I also substituted the fish with Tilapia. Also I didn't bother straining the sauce I just spooned it onto the fish. Be careful the fish is very delicate and will tear apart when transferring to the other pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I would give this one a higher rating if I could. WOW, amazing taste! I cut down on butter and used talapia the second time and it still came out great. Totally worth the time. Thank you, Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was SO delicious. Grocery store didn't have halibut so I substituted tilapia with no detrimental effects. I reduced the butter by almost half (used 6T instead of 10) and the sauce was still fantastic, nice and tangy. Do listen to others and doule the sauce. I just made two fillets for my husband and myself but made enough sauce for six. There was definitely some leftover but I am so glad I didn't go longing for more (very possible if I had made only 2 servings'-worth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe! It is one of my very favorites on the site. You almost have to make it twice to get the timing down, as others have said.. timing is key! Every time my husband brings home fresh halibut from his fishing ventures, this is on the menu.. absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsgma

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is truly amazing, but only as long as it's fresh. Just don't refrigerate it: it is one of the best fish recipes out there as long as it's fresh, but once it's stored overnight, it's not good at all. A real shame, but it's not really a problem because there probably won't be any leftovers to save anyway (I made it for more people than I ended up serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
A symphony indeed! Every bite was heavenly. Even my kids who were skeptical at first oohed and aahed. The sauce makes the dish -- I tried not to think about the butter/fat content as it crossed my lips (then went straight to my hips). I didn't need to double the sauce because I only made three fillets instead of six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This lives up to it's name. It's pricier to get all the ingredients but it is like a bite of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was simply delicious. I added extra cream to the sauce so that there was plenty to drizzle over the halibut. The flavor was amazing and the almonds were such a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I went to my grocery store and they did not have halibut! So I used tilapia and I dont know if it wouldve made a difference if I would have used halibut.. this recipe was very good..however Im not sure it was good enough for the amt of calories it has. I, like others used fat free half and half in the sauce...and mine never really thickened up ( I dont know if it was supposed to).. plus the butter flavor stood out a lot to me..kinda tasted like melted butter with spice in it.. (which is basically what it is..)..I used 8 tbsp and that seemed like enough to me. However, the crumb/pecan topping was phenomenol.. i just dont know if I can get past that prevelent taste of butter in the sauce..I probably wont be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach8986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
the end product was fab. however, having never made a buerre blanc i could have used a little more detail. i prepped my ingredients as suggested. and i, like a reviewer below, used brummel butter as well as half & half. i also increased the almonds & lessened the breadcrumbs. oh, but it took waaaay longer than the times listed. the buerre blanc seemed to take forever(hence the four star rating). still, i will make it again cuz the taste was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States