Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this once and it went over very well, perfect for a romantic dinner. The sauce is just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Kept to the recipe. My husband said it was outstanding. The sauce provided a great flavor. I plan on using the sauce for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have tried many wonderful recipes from this site with excellent results. In fact a good number of them have made it into regular circulation around my house. But this recipe is the first that I felt I had to review. I hate fish ... I mean I really HATE fish. My husband on the other hand is always asking me to make fish. So with company here for the holidays I decided to try 2 fish recipes from the site. The Broiled Tilapia Parmesan recipe and this one... based mostly on their high ratings and overwhelming positive reviews. I really enjoyed the Tilapia recipe ( altho I used Basa not tilapia) but I LOVED this one. I now have 2 fish recipes I will make again. The only change I made to this recipe was I doubled the sauce as suggested ... it was unbelievably good but I did have some leftovers not a lot tho so I will probably continue to double it. It was a big hit and compliments the fish wonderfully. Making the sauce was the most time consuming part of this recipe but worth the effort and it wasn't as unforgiving as I feared at the start. It reheated well in the microwave (not to boiling) so you can make this a bit ahead of time rather than trying to keep it warm ... then do your fish. I also did not use halibut but instead opted for Basa a fairly firm very mild white fish. No fishy flavour at all just delicate lovely flakes. Bottom line is that this is a very good recipe .. gourmet even .. try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Incredible!!!!!!!! Need I say more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I had to try this recipe with raving reviews. I also used Tilipia given cost and availability. I doubled the sauce which we finished it up for 4 adults. Everyone loved the fish and especially sauce. Next time I might try with light cream. When I doubled the recipe I only used 11 T of butter. This came out fabulously. It made fish yummy. My little ones ate the fish without trying the sauce and gobbled it up! Thanks for sharing and all the wonderful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is definitely a 5 star recipe even though I overcooked the fish a bit. Yes the sauce is fussy, uses a lot of dishes and takes some time to prepare, if you're looking for a recipe for a "special" dinner, it is worth the time and effort. Next time I will saute the fish for 2 minutes per side, 3 minutes was too long. And by the way, half and half works just fine for the heavy cream, considering beurre blanc typically doesn't have cream anyway. I'm also going to try this with other fish varieties. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is great as is! My only advise would be to chop up everything BEFORE you start cooking the sauce as everything comes together quite quickly. I put almond slices in the food processor instead of mincing them by hand. Found the halibut at my local fisherman's market so it was very fresh. Served with Jasmine rice and steamed asparagus. This is definitely a KEEPER recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This really is good but not a "quick and easy" recipe. I stuck to the recipe except I did not strain the sauce(didnt need it). It was very tasty but a lot of work for the result. I would suggest going easy on the amount of topping on the fish - I used all of it and it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notyouraveragegranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have made this recipe several times now. Absolutely Terrific! "Nice" Restaurant quality and just terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe! Pricey and time-consuming, but a winner for special occasions. This is about as close to 5-star restaurant quality as it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States