Almond Crusted Chicken with Tomato Citrus Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I used grape tomatoes instead of roma, as that's what I had on hand. Other than that, I followed the recipe. For us, this dish was missing something. I would have liked the sauce to have more liquid. It was more of a relish than a sauce really. I did like the almond coating on the chicken, but like others mentioned, the spices were not prominent enough for our taste. Just seemed to be lacking in flavor overall. Sorry, but this was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
DO NOT TRY TO HALVE THIS RECIPE. The sauce burned like crazy. Very sad, had to use canned tomato sauce as a backup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The smells, the texture, the taste-all fabulous. I had an abundance of fresh spinach in my fridge so chopped it up and threw it in the sauce at the last minute-healthy AND yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbbutler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Delicious! I tried this out on my husband but had to substitute the oranges with clementines. Also noticed that you didn't need as much almonds as recipe calls for. I ended up throwing out about half after I coated the chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I gave this three stars because I thought it was rather bland. First, I couldn't disagree more with the users who said the chicken was better without the sauce, the sauce was definitely my favorite part. I cut the oil in half and it was still really oily for my taste. Another tip, do NOT skip the clarifying of the butter. I ran out of oil/butter when frying the chicken breasts and just threw some in the pan and it burnt really quickly, whereas clarified butter doesn't burn as easily. I had extra almond/flour mixture and not enough tomato sauce, so that should be adjusted. It was a hit with my boyfriend and friends, and looked really great, but the flavors just didn't really come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love the almond coated chicken concept for this recipe. However, I prefer to prepare a different sauce than the one used here. I make a lemon butter sauce to go with this chicken instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe and very versatile. I actually made it an Almond Crusted Tilapia with the same sauce and it was wonderful. Great flavor and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyChez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Quite Tasty! It's nice because you can make the sauce ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The chicken was just OK. I should have listened to the other people who posted and said to double the spices in the chicken's coating. I couldn't even taste the different flavors which was very disappointing. It just tasted too greasy for my taste. I didn't like the sauce at all and my husband said he'd like it if the rosemary and thyme was cut in half. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
The chicken was wonderful, full of flavor and very crispy. The sauce on the other hand did not turn out at all. Still a good recipe but I would not try the sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States