Almond Crusted Chevre and Grape Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years, although slightly different/simpler. I use just straight goat cheese (not crumbled, found in 'tubes-like' packaging) to wrap the grapes. Instead of almonds to roll them in, I use crushed candied pecans (pecan pieces mixed within egg white, brown sugar & vanilla. baked for 15 at 325- cooled and crushed) That's it! It's a delicious variation enjoyed by my family every holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a nice, mild appetizer to serve with others on a tray. Save labor by using a 1 tablespoon cookie scoop (the kind with a lever) to portion the cheese mixture. Pressing the grape right into the scoop the cheese will ooze up around the grape and you can pat it to cover completely and then just pop it onto a plate. Wear light-weight food service gloves and it's quick and clean! I used grapes that were quite large, so needed to double the recipe to yield about 30. Fun to make and good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is a good recipe. To save time I chopped up the grapes and mixed them into the cheese and then rolled everything into one giant cheese ball. I also tossed in a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was fun to make, and really good. The combination was fantastic! I didn't change a thing, except I don't use alcohol, so I used apple cider vinegar, and it worked perfectly, I wish I had made a bigger batch! It was a big hit at the dinner party I went to! The plastic glove suggestion made it very easy. It did take a while to make, but it was worth it! This will be a standard when I go to parties this year! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this for a party where everyone brings an appetizer it was a hit looks and tastes great the grape was the little surprise inside fun dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERSGAME
Living In: Wickenburg, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! I love it love it love it! I made it for a bunch of friends and they were like, SO AWESOME...im sorry...i just love this recipe...mmmm Less cream cheese 22 grapes 1/2 cup of chives PHENOMENAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very good with both tomatoes and grapes. Good response at party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were good. They were better the first day they were made, lost a little bit on the second day. I gave it three stars because they were a pain to make and chevre and grapes are expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I make these, but instead of port wine I use whatever red wine I have around and add some sugar to it. I also use the ends of green onions because I cannot get chives where I live. I also put the cheese mixture in the freezer before balling it around the grapes. Helps a lot - less mess. This is my favorite recipe to bring to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
To simplify, chop everything up & use as a cheese spread. I substituted Framboise for the port wine. Great with crackers, vegetables, or on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States