Almond Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This was easy and so good! I used pecans though and I put them on the foil first, then poured my mixture. I found that a little easier than stirring them into the mixture then pouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was wonderful. I used pecans instead of almonds, and I put more chopped pecans on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Unbelievable!! This recipe just disappears when I take it to functions. So easy and very yummy. One thing - I burned the pan in one spot by not stirring, the next time I stirred and it still turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
A sure fire hit...I am new to candy making. This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great(even without a candy thermometer). Great tasting candy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
It is my first time to use this recipe and I was expecting the result to be like my favorite Almond Roca. However, the color of the toffee was dark brown and not at all like ALmond Roca. Is this really how it should look? Or did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I made this over the Christmas Holiday, Everyone that tried it LOVED it. It was easy and very good. I used semi-sweet chips the second time I made it and people seemed to like it just a little better, But it was all a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Yum! This recipe has an addictive caramel-flavored crunch, and is an interesting alternative to peanut brittle. In fact, I like it better because it's crunchy without being too hard. To avoid burning (which is what I almost did on my first try), start out with your burner at a medium-low setting and increase the heat as needed to reach the right temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I love this recipe! Made 20 lbs this year as gifts. Couple of hints: * The new "Release Foil" is much easier to get off than regular. * I double the recipe (but just use 1 regular-size bag of milk chocolate) and use the bottom of a broiler pan. * Don't accidentally use semi-sweet! * I prefer sliced almonds, and crush a few over the chocolate before it hardens to make it prettier. * BIG tip: I've ruined a few pans over the years making this. I'm not a chemist, but the candy still tastes great and my pans are not scorched if I stir it constantly, even after it boils. In fact, when I have NOT stirred it, it tastes burned. It's inconvenient to stand there stirring, but worth it to me. * I also HIGHLY suggest getting a good thermometer! * This year I made it on a cold day and set the pans out on the screened-in porch, so didn't have to mess with rotating through refrigerators! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this recipe last year for Christmas. It was very good, easy to make and I have added it to my holiday traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I thought it was good but mine came out sort of gooey. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States