Almond Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Yummy!!! This is the best! It only lasted a day in the house and I had to make more for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made four batches of this for christmas. I wanted to give it as gifts, but my family kept eating it all. I doubled the recipe and poured it into a large warmed jelly roll pan lined with parchment. I like it about 1/2 inch thick. No problems with sticking. I added crushed almond on top and 1/2 t. almond extract to the candy after I removed it from the heat. So fantastic. It will be a christmas tradition at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Tasted burned...not sure if I cooked it too long or something. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews, and wound up with burnt candy. I heated it to 300 degrees, as per my brand new candy thermometer, and did not stir. Due to the fact that the kitchen was filled with smoke and the candy had a dark color, I did not add the chocolate and let it harden. I tasted it, and threw the whole thing away. I made an almond crunch, similar to this one, last Christmas. That recipe did not call for toasting the almonds, and the chocolate was melted first, then spread on both sides. I couldn't find that recipe this year, and tried this one instead. Now that I think about it, I do seem to remember having to stir the candy constantly last year while it cooked. I'll keep looking for the old recipe, and if I can't find it, I might try this again, following the other reviewers suggestions and adapting it to mimic the old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe is great, but DO NOT follow the direction on not stirring it and Do not boil it to 300 unless you like burnt tasting candy. I made the mistake on not reading the reviews and my candy burnt and i had to throw my pan away cause i couldnt get the burnt smell out.Luckily it wasnt one one my Cuisinart pans. But I tried it again and stirred it constantly and only boiled it to 280 and it came out great. i made a batch with the chocolate and one without. Next time i will try it with pecans.Great recipe with the changes. From now on i will be reading the reviews before i make anything. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is terrific - my kids' favorite out of everything I've made so far this holiday season (quickbreads, cookies, rocky road). It wasn't hard at all, and didn't take very much time to get to the correct temperature. Thank you all who made suggestions... I followed the suggestion about hanging the foil over the side of the pan so you can hold onto it, and the one about using Reynold's Release. They were both great. I think I'll be making more of this tomorrow!! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is my favorite candy recipe! I have made in three times for presents. I don't like almonds so I use peanuts, and I'm going to try a batch with cashews. I lightly greased the foil in the jelly-roll pan and I turned down the heat to "medium" once the caramel started to boil. I stirred occasionaly once it was boiling and I'm pretty sure it would have burned is I hadn't, esspecaily at the very end. Everyone I give it to LOVES it and asks for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really like this recipe - it reminds me of the Almond Roca candy. I did make a couple of small changes - one, I only brought the candy to a temp of 285 (275 is a little too low, and 300 is too high). I used finely chopped almonds instead of slivered ones. Then, after the candy has cooled for a little while, before putting on the chocolate, I scored the candy into rectangles. After spreading on the chocolate, I sprinkled chopped almonds on top of the chocolate, and refrigerated the candy. It was very easy to break into bite-sized rectangle pieces from the scoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I have made this recipe for years for the holidays, **one tip for a richer toffee flavor, use BROWN sugar instead of white**, the flavor from the brown sugar way exceeds the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
My first batch came out great. I changed/replaced a couple of things. I used parchment paper instead of foil so the candy was easier to remove. I stirred in a little vanilla extract after the candy reached 295F when I also added the almonds. The milk chocolate layer melts easily even after you refrigerate esp when you hold it in your hands. I would recommend breaking it into smaller pieces so the time held in the hands is minimized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by safire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States