Almond Crescent Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I learned you must flip them out immediately, I waited like 1 minute and they were sticking to the pan. An easy recipe but I don't think I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I have made these dozens of times for family, friends, bruches, showers...you name it! They have always been a HUGE hit. I still follow the recipe exactly (which is rare for me!) They are wonderful warm and fresh. However, I often make them the night before for a brunch (if I have lots of other things to prepare) and keep them in the fridge. They are just as amazing served chilled. Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
It must have been too early for me to do this properly, but turned out great! Instead of placing the butter/brown sugar mixture into the muffin pan, I spread over the crescent rectangles and rolled up as directed. I realized my mistake at that point, but had to keep going, so cooked them that way. They did not cook over and were really tasty. I mixed the powdered sugar/butter mix and brushed over the cooked tops. Would have thought I'd done it right, they were so good. I used vanilla extract instead of almond, added cinnamon to the brown sugar mix and did not put nuts in, as the kids won't eat cooked nuts. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious special breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Easy and great almond flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
These are definitely good, but a little on the excessively buttery side. Just make sure you bake them until very dark golden brown so they aren't a gooey undercooked mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
THIS IS SUCH A WONDERFUL, QUICK AND EASY RECIPE!!! Great "no fail" recipe for children! I substituted uncooked apples (just one regular ole' deliscious for six buns) with a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg for the nuts on some buns and on the other buns I inserted milk chocolate chips. All three types are perfect! DEFINATELY USE A DRIP PAN! Great to take to brunches or for gifting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This recipe was a hit! I doubled the recipe and only put nuts in half of the buns. I also used butter flavored crescent rolls and vanilla extract instead of almond extract (I didn't have any on hand). They turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Superb recipe! Soooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
These are very rich and awesome! I actually messed up and put the mixture that's supposed to go in the muffin cups inside the buns instead. So they got a double dose of good stuff, which made them extremely moist and buttery. I inverted them after 15 min in the oven, because they were brown, but they weren't quite done; so I transferred them to a large pie plate and stuck them back in the oven for 5 more minutes. I wonder if they could be done in a pie plate to begin with, or if they would spread too much - maybe a 9 x 13 pan would be easier?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABAKERGIRL
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This was a really easy recipe. They leave a bit to be desired when they first come out of the oven. I actually melted a little more butter with brown sugar and brushed it on the tops then sprinkled almonds on the top then drizzled with confectioners' glaze. Everyone in the house loved them and wanted to eat them all right then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States