Almond Cream-Puff Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wasn't satisfied with this recipe. Followed instructions twice and the puffs weren't puffs, they were like a heavy biscuit. I've made these before and it wasn't anything like the ones I made with another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is a never fail crowd pleaser for sure. My friends and family think I fuss, and there is never left overs. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Soo delicious. Great recipe to show off to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I love making cream puffs, so I did that but used the almond cream for a filler! LOVED it! A lot of cooks are intimidated by the fact that these are almost too good to be so easy. Try it! It's not hard but I will say it's very important to add one egg at a time to the dough and be sure each egg is incorporated well before adding the next! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very delicious and easy to make! This is a wonderful dessert that's not overly sweet and just very light and tasty! I love almond extract in desserts so, this will remain a favorite of mine! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I would rate this more than 5 stars if I could! I followed the recipe exactly as written for the puff pastry dough. I wanted small, individual-sized puffs, so I piped them in a swirl pattern of approx. 1 and 1/2 inch diameter by 2 inches of height onto parchment lined baking pans. (Leave approx. 2 inches between each puff--this will make approx. 15 puffs). I used a large piping tip (not sure the size). The puffs with height cooked up nicely to accept more filling. The second time I made these, I made one other small change (based on our taste preferences); however, the recipe is awesome as written. Because we both have a sweet tooth, I whipped the cream and set aside, made the pudding with only 3/4 cup of milk, then folded the whipped cream into the pudding and added approx. 1/4 cup of Sweetened Condensed Milk to add more sweetness. The condensed milk will thin down the whipped cream, so I find it important to add less milk to the pudding. This makes a very light, easy to make puff pastry that is visually appealing and tasty! Thank you Synchorswim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I would really recommend the choux pastry component of this recipe; it's well-written and easy to follow, especially for someone who has never made choux pastry before! It turned out perfectly. I'll be using this again for eclairs & profiteroles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
For now I am only rating the filling. I make as stated, but with only 1/2 tsp almond extract. I have used this many times to make the filling for a boston cream pie. It is sturdy enough to hold up to the extra cake layer, but still so soft and creamy. I can put the entire batch between two THIN layers of yellow cake, making it the creamiest boston cream pie I have ever tasted. I then top with a chocolate glaze. It is always a hit and gobbled up super fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Out standing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Excellent! At first I was skeptical when the dough tasted like spaetzle, but when I baked them, they tasted like biscuits. The pudding was delicious, and together they made a wonderful combination! They were easy enough to make, but took a while--well worth it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States