Almond Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Yummy! I had a problem with the batter being crumbly, too. I just added more butter (1/2 to 3/4 cups). I added sliced almonds and probably left the mixer on too long as they turned out to more like finely chopped than bits, but I suppose that was a taste issue. I also just put them into golf-ball size and then made them flat with a cup. 16 minutes in the oven seemed to be the magic number for me. Will definately make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very good. More an almond shortbread than a cookie. I used the glaze recipe suggested by one reviewer (Linda, I believe) and they were close to the Voortman Almonette cookies that my husband loves. In the future, I'm going to roll dough into log in wax paper and then put in fridge. The dough is very hard when coming out of fridge, making it very difficult to 'drop by teaspoonfuls' so I'm going to treat as an icebox cookie. That way you can slice the dough into circles instead of using the bottom of a glass to squash. It'll save time that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
quite tastey, just need to find a method to make them slightly softer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I doubled the almond extract because I really like almond flavour and it tasted just like marzipan! Very much a shortbread cookie. My only issue was that as the butter melted the cookies spread out and blended in to one another. Next time I might try using muffin tins to help keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made these for a party I threw this summer, they were a hit! The only thing I did was the skip the icing and just pushed almond slices in the top. The only thing I didn't like was how flat they got, but I live in an high altitude area so maybe that is why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
good, so so good. These cookies are like nothing I have ever had. Increased the almond extract to 2 tsp and accidently reduced the flour bu about 1/2 cup. They turned out nice and crispy, also used real butter not margarine and cut the salt in half. try it, you will be amazed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I had high hopes for these cookies after reading all the wonderful reviews, but I was disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly but they were really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Mmmmm delicious almond cookies. I added the extra almond extract, and then while the butter and sugar were creaming, I poured in about a cup of sliced almonds. A sliver of toasted almond topped each one. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty cookies! Although the dough was very crumbly...I mixed it up ahead of time, put it in the fridge and it was still crumbles. I had to press it into a ball shape and form into a cookie. Other than that, very easy and good! I also added 3 tsp of almond extract as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I did exactly as directions told me to. I put in fridge overnight. Why is it just crumbles and no dough? What holds it together? There is no way to drop that onto cookie sheet by spoonful. Was something liquid left out of ingredient list?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bolivar, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States