Almond Chocolate Coconut Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This tastes very much like the candy bar it is named after. I needed to make another half batch of the chocolate topping. Made 36 in mini-muffin tins and an 8 x 8-inch dish that I cut into bars. Next time I will put a whole almond on top of each piece. Very rich dessery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I found that the recipe does not make the full amount...but they are wonderful. An easy recipe that is perfect for buffetts-I made them for work and they were they only thing that was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe is SO good! It was worh the time it takes! One note... I pressed my thumb in the batter in each muffin as I was taking it out of the oven so I had plenty of space for the filling. The only prob. I had was the topping. It didn't harden well and remains tacky to you can't stack the sweets, but who cares! They get eaten too fast! TKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Time consuming but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASHBERRY95
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Had to give this 5 stars because I loved them but had to make a few changes. First change was the crust...I mixed all the ingredients and it was not a consistency for rolling into balls so added another egg and some water. I then baked the crusts for 10 minutes which seemed too long when I took them out of the oven...they got very crunchy but after having the filling in them softened up a little. Next time I will check them after 5 minutes. The coconut filling is awesome! After reading the other review about the chocolate topping not setting up I decided to add less milk to the mixture, next time I will double the amount of chocolate topping because I had to make more. With all that said these were awesome! Everyone loved them and their were many request for the recipe. Thank You, Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This recipe was very time consuming, and only made half of the listed servings. When I took the lined mini muffin tins out of the oven, the dough had risen so there was little room to put the coconut filling. Then after topping them I waited 4 hours for the chocolate almond mixture to harden up so I could store them, and it never happened. I was very dissapointed, and could not leave them not touching one another so I had to throw them out. (after spending over 1.5 hours in prep time.) Sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
These were graet and everyone loved them! Just make sure you have a lot of time to make these b/c they were really time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Used them for my son's catering business. Everyone really enjoyed them. I did as was suggested and added another egg to the cake batter and only used 2 tablespoons of milk in the frosting. Also after baking cups for 7 minutes, I thumbprinted the cups and baked another 2 minutes. They were perfect for the filling. I didn't spread the frosting all the way to the outside. They looked prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These were fabulous! Like the other reviewers suggested, I def recommend adding the extra egg to the fudge cake batter, cutting back on the milk in the chocolate topping, and pressing your thumb in the cups while taking them out of the oven. Also, bc not everyone in my family likes coconut, I substituted graham crackers for coconut in half the marshmellow mix, keeping the rest of the recipe the same...they turned out like little s'more cups. These were gobbled up so quick I had to make more for the true event!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were very good. I followed the suggestions of others and baked for about 7 minutes, added an extra egg to the cake batter, and used 1/8 c. evap milk for frosting. Also pressed my thumb in shells when removing from oven. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States