Almond Chocolate Coconut Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ASHBERRY95
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Had to give this 5 stars because I loved them but had to make a few changes. First change was the crust...I mixed all the ingredients and it was not a consistency for rolling into balls so added another egg and some water. I then baked the crusts for 10 minutes which seemed too long when I took them out of the oven...they got very crunchy but after having the filling in them softened up a little. Next time I will check them after 5 minutes. The coconut filling is awesome! After reading the other review about the chocolate topping not setting up I decided to add less milk to the mixture, next time I will double the amount of chocolate topping because I had to make more. With all that said these were awesome! Everyone loved them and their were many request for the recipe. Thank You, Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
These were fabulous! Like the other reviewers suggested, I def recommend adding the extra egg to the fudge cake batter, cutting back on the milk in the chocolate topping, and pressing your thumb in the cups while taking them out of the oven. Also, bc not everyone in my family likes coconut, I substituted graham crackers for coconut in half the marshmellow mix, keeping the rest of the recipe the same...they turned out like little s'more cups. These were gobbled up so quick I had to make more for the true event!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Used them for my son's catering business. Everyone really enjoyed them. I did as was suggested and added another egg to the cake batter and only used 2 tablespoons of milk in the frosting. Also after baking cups for 7 minutes, I thumbprinted the cups and baked another 2 minutes. They were perfect for the filling. I didn't spread the frosting all the way to the outside. They looked prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were very good. I followed the suggestions of others and baked for about 7 minutes, added an extra egg to the cake batter, and used 1/8 c. evap milk for frosting. Also pressed my thumb in shells when removing from oven. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe is SO good! It was worh the time it takes! One note... I pressed my thumb in the batter in each muffin as I was taking it out of the oven so I had plenty of space for the filling. The only prob. I had was the topping. It didn't harden well and remains tacky to you can't stack the sweets, but who cares! They get eaten too fast! TKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This tastes very much like the candy bar it is named after. I needed to make another half batch of the chocolate topping. Made 36 in mini-muffin tins and an 8 x 8-inch dish that I cut into bars. Next time I will put a whole almond on top of each piece. Very rich dessery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This recipe was very time consuming, and only made half of the listed servings. When I took the lined mini muffin tins out of the oven, the dough had risen so there was little room to put the coconut filling. Then after topping them I waited 4 hours for the chocolate almond mixture to harden up so I could store them, and it never happened. I was very dissapointed, and could not leave them not touching one another so I had to throw them out. (after spending over 1.5 hours in prep time.) Sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I've made these twice, and the second time I think I got it right. Why add a second egg? Just cut the flour down to 1/4 cup, and it's the perfect consistency. I used paper liners, but just rolled the balls and dropped them into the liners. Also Ladies, to address the comments about only getting X amount of treats, remember we're talking inches in female mentality. An inch is an inch, and I got 52-60 treats. I baked them for 9 minutes, but oven temps vary. Dido on pressing a thumbprint after they come out of the oven. I did let them cool for a few minutes before carefully taking them out of the muffin tin to let them firm up a bit. That way it frees up the tins for a second batch, since I only have two tins. They're a bit time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I had a few issues putting this recipe together. The end result gets 4 stars, but the preparation gets a 2. First, when the little cakes bake, they pretty much fill the entire muffin opening. And if you don't push them back down immediately after they come out of the oven, they get hardened like that very quickly. I followed the instructions of keeping the filling warm to fill the chocolate molds, and if you don't, it begins to separate and the coconut falls to the bottom. At this point in the recipe, it should tell you to chill the cups before adding the chocolate topping. I added the chocolate on top of the warm filling and it just ran all over the pan, making a huge mess. After doing 3 cups, I stopped, put the pan in the fridge and chilled for about 30 minutes. Then I came back to a slightly thickened chocolate glaze and added it onto the chilled coconut filling. This worked much better. In the end, the chocolate cups were kind of hard and crumbly, and the filling is extremely sweet. But after my changes, they did turn out very pretty with some sliced almonds on top. Too many steps, too much work, and not a great finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first, seeing the picture, but I won the baking contest at my church with these! It received top marks in taste, and almost everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States