Almond Chocolate Coconut Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good, a little salty for some reason, but if you like the Almond Joy candy bar, and we do, then its worth trying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were deeee-licious! I took all the suggested tips and these came out perfect. Instead of pressing my finger into the cups to make an indent, I use a shot glass...works great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
The taste of these cupcakes was good but we didn't care for the texture. The crust was not cakey like we thought it should be, but sugary and crumbly-kind of hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very disappointing, especially since I love almonds, coconut, and chocolate! The cookie part of the recipe was way too dry to form into balls. It took an extremely long time trying to press crumbs into my pan. Then I read a few reviews and added another egg to the mix. The filling was delicious. Tasted just like Almond Joy! I had to guess at the marshmallows though since I only had the mini size. I made the topping as stated which also ended up being very time consuming since once the almonds are mixed in, they make it harder to spread on the tops. I cooked the cookies for only half the time pressing them down immediately after removing from the oven. Overall the taste was good but not as yummy as I was anticipating. I was very disappointed after all the time I spent making these cookies. I may try it again making them like a bar cookie. It won't be soon though. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I've made these twice, and the second time I think I got it right. Why add a second egg? Just cut the flour down to 1/4 cup, and it's the perfect consistency. I used paper liners, but just rolled the balls and dropped them into the liners. Also Ladies, to address the comments about only getting X amount of treats, remember we're talking inches in female mentality. An inch is an inch, and I got 52-60 treats. I baked them for 9 minutes, but oven temps vary. Dido on pressing a thumbprint after they come out of the oven. I did let them cool for a few minutes before carefully taking them out of the muffin tin to let them firm up a bit. That way it frees up the tins for a second batch, since I only have two tins. They're a bit time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I had a few issues putting this recipe together. The end result gets 4 stars, but the preparation gets a 2. First, when the little cakes bake, they pretty much fill the entire muffin opening. And if you don't push them back down immediately after they come out of the oven, they get hardened like that very quickly. I followed the instructions of keeping the filling warm to fill the chocolate molds, and if you don't, it begins to separate and the coconut falls to the bottom. At this point in the recipe, it should tell you to chill the cups before adding the chocolate topping. I added the chocolate on top of the warm filling and it just ran all over the pan, making a huge mess. After doing 3 cups, I stopped, put the pan in the fridge and chilled for about 30 minutes. Then I came back to a slightly thickened chocolate glaze and added it onto the chilled coconut filling. This worked much better. In the end, the chocolate cups were kind of hard and crumbly, and the filling is extremely sweet. But after my changes, they did turn out very pretty with some sliced almonds on top. Too many steps, too much work, and not a great finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Really enjoyed these . I also added an extra egg to the cake mix and used a 10x10 square pan to bake them in because I don't own the mini cup pans. I also used 2 tbls milk in the topping as suggested. Rich and delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
WOW! These are awesome! I used a mini marshmallows as I had on hand, and used the extra egg as suggested. I ended up having to make a well in these cups once out of the oven, they were a little messy to make. I used a mini muffin pan and had some left over so I used a couple of ramekins. Will def be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good, but I made in full-size muffin tin, and they were a little much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were AMAZING. I also added an extra egg like other reviewers suggested. Also, I used regular muffin tins instead of mini-muffins and it was fine. I baked them for 10 min, although you could probably do them ~2 min longer, but I liked the fudgy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States