Almond Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Made this for dinner as it looked filling enough to serve alone. As it was just the hubby and myself tonight, I dressed only half of the salad and saved half which I rarely do. The dressing was a tad too sharp and the mustard was somewhat overwhelming. Second day I had the other half as a lettuce wrap for lunch and lo and behold, the dressing was GREAT. Apparently it needed a day for the flavors to marry. Thank you Linda W for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Very tasty, but the amount of mustard makes it very spicy (very!). I cut the mustard in half and thought that made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Wickham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a great salad! It's beautiful colors and non-stop crunch are satisfying to the last bite. I made two tiny changes: I used seasoned rice vinegar instead of distilled, and about 1/4 the recommended amount of dry mustard. Served on a bed of mixed greens, this was a delicious lunch. Thanks for the recipe! 8 points+, and worth every one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I would use 1 Tblsp dry mustard instead of 2 if, like me, you want a little less spice. But good salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
So delicious! I added some chopped celery for the heck of it, and cut back on the sesame oil for personal preference. When I saw someone say the dressing was spicy I was like what? Okay now I know...the amount of ground mustard DOES make this pretty darn spicy...but I LOVED it!! Glad I made extra cause I ate the leftovers as a midnight snack ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Enjoyed this recipe. I made a whole chicken from this site and used that as the chicken. The few changes I made where I omitted the red pepper and cilantro and used white wine vinegar. I was hoping to have leftovers but my hubby and I ate the entire thing for dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is very good if you're looking for a dressing that goes with Asian style salads. I have made this numerous times over the past couple of months, and it's always something I look forward to eating. It may only be me, but I notice it's a bit on the spicy side. I think this is due to the dry mustard. If you don't like the hint of spice, opt for less mustard or substitute. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Love, love, LOVE this recipe!! Honestly, this is the best recipe I have found online. I made it as is and tossed with a couple handfuls of fresh spinach leaves. After the first time making it, I added more cilantro because I'm obsessed with the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Lots of freshness and crispy veggies in this. I ate it on flatbread. Pretty good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This salad is DELICIOUS! I've made it twice in the last couple of days (for different social events) and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe except increase cilantro (love it) and put it in a nice low-carb wrap with chopped chinese cabbage. No one thought the mustard was spicy or overwhelming...not sure what people are talking about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States