Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
After making a few adjustments I found this to be one of our favorite recipes in our home! To make a 9x13 pan, I add 2 1/2-3 cups of COOKED long-grain rice (we prefer Basmati rice), add carrots to the celery to make about 2 1/4 cups (the carrots add more flavor than the celery alone), no more than 1 cup mayo, DEFENITLY add 2 cans of cream of chicken and if the mixture seems to dry add some milk until it looks better, and instead of topping with plain cornflakes use Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds!!! The honey gives it an awesome added flavor, it seemed to be the flavor that was missing after I made it the first time word for word from the orginal recipe. Oh, and I only cooked it for 20-30 minutes until it was warm. HIGHLY Recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I have been looking for years for this recipe. I grew up with this dish, and it is one of my favorites! I tweaked it a little to suit our tastes, and the results were amazing. Here's what I did: - shredded the chicken instead of chopping into cubes; - used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken; - used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream; - finely diced the celery and sauteed it until soft; - used the water that I poached the chicken breasts in to cook the rice; - added pepper to taste; - doubled the amount of corn flake topping; - baked casserole (without topping) for 30 minutes, then added the topping and baked for the final 15 minutes. Adding the topping in the last 15 minutes keeps the corn flakes from over-browning. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAN1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is hands down my favorite all recipes dish ... with a few alterations. I use sour cream instead of mayonnaise and roast garlic cream of mushroom as opposed to cream of chicken. You can bulk up the almonds and celery, too, for a more hearty dish. I've even made this with brown rice ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMITHH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe has been revised. The correct amount of rice is 2 cups uncooked rice. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made this with what I had on hand - no almonds or cornflakes. I used half the amount of rice. I added chopped green pepper and carrots, to increase the amount of vegetables and make it more of a one-pot meal. I added some fresh chopped rosemary to the veggies and some grated parmesan cheese to the soup/mayo mixture. These added a lot to the overall flavor. Since I had no cornflakes, I made breadcrumbs by whirling a crust of bread in the food processor with some more parmesan cheese. Instead of feeding 12, cutting back on the rice and adding more veggies meant it fed four easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was ok, if I make it again I'll definitely make some changes. As it was, I followed some previous reviewers' advice and doubled the soup and added more sour cream than mayo. It also used brown rice and bulked up the almonds and celery. I think it needs a little more in the way of seasoning, and I can't imagine it coming out right with only one can of soup. Also, i think I might try sliced sauteed mushrooms next time - and possibly as other reviewers mentioned I might try toasting the almonds to add to the flavor. It was a good base for a casserole, but could definitely use some tweeking based on personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I read all the previous comments and took some of the same advice. I used a box of uncle bens rice mix(butter/herb) and cooked it in the microwave. I sauteed the onion and celery with butter and garlic(2 cloves) and instead of mayo I added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I also added 1/4 cup of milk. I used cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken. I cut up the chicken and cooked it in the same pan as the celery and onion but I added a bit of olive oil. Since the casserole bakes for 45 mins I did not cook the chicken very long in the skillet(5 mins or so) I topped the casserole with durkee fried onions instead of the potato chips/butter. It was soooo yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPENDUBEDEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I love this casserole!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the cornflake topping. Instead, I topped the casserole off with prepared Pepperidge Farm (Herb Seasoned) Stuffing. (Add 1 1/4 c boiling water and 2-3 tbl of butter to 4 cups stuffing mix.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was fantastic. My 3 year old cleaned her plate. I halved the recipe, used cream of celery soup and ommited the celery. I baked it in a 2 qt. casserole. (I did not halve topping or soup). It was great!!!!! Great for covered dish suppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Very good casserole overall- I added fresh sliced sauteed mushrooms, and I also used whole chicken breasts- placed them on top of the casserole and cooked it the same otherwise. I thought it needed more flavoring, some seasoning salt or garlic- it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States