Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I followed many of the suggested adjustments: used brown rice; added some garlic; added extra soup; split mayo & sour cream. The end result was still bland and unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I used a can of each soup, chicken and mushroom. (it was too much-should have stuck to the recipe) We liked it a lot but I will need to scale down next time. I only used 1 cup of uncooked rice and thought that was plenty. Loved the celery and almonds and will add even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was really good. I did add 2 cloves minced garlic and used brown rice. Made a salad with an awesome vinagrette and my kids were singing my praises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I thought it was bland and gave all the leftovers to my husband who thought the dish was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was my first time making a casserole with rice, I usually make is with pasta. It was ok. I add seasonings for extra flavour. I also sauted garlic, red pepper and carrots. I halfed the mayo and added sour creams as per the suggestions of others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was not a huge fan of this, my daughter did not like this either. My husband thought that it was okay. I do not think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I thought the almonds gave this dish a great flavor and crunch. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a big family hit. The suggestions by Jami B.N. with the added ingredients, especially the honey, put the flavors over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Sorry, the casserole was bland... but bland typically isn't a problem for me. I don't like spicey foods. I used some of the tweaks given (2 cans of soup, water chestnuts, peas instead of celery because I hate celery). But the worst thing I did was try that honey bunches of oats for topping. Not only was the casserole too bland for even moi (and that was with adding salt and pepper), but the honey bunches of oats gave the savory dish a very unwanted sweet tang. I barely ate my portion and had to apologize profusely to my dinner guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWOWEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I replaced the chicken with leftover Thanksgiving turkey. What a good Black Friday dinner. Supper easy, warm, and comforting. A new tradition in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States