Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Very good recipe. I omit celery because I don't like them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
We loved this recipe! I only changed it by adding 2 garlic cloves and some cheddar cheese. I add herbs to all recipes>.Whats the big problems with people..they change the original recipe and then complain that it wasnt good!!? Try it once , then add your own touches. Thanks K.T.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I guess I can't call my version almond chicken casserole since I didn't use them because I didn't have them, but what I made based on this recipe has become a favorite. Instead of corn flakes I used Honey Bunches of oats. I used Honey Bunches of Oats with Peaches crushed very fine for the topping. It would probably be even better with the almond version of the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I cut the chicken into bite-size pieces, browned them in olive oil, then added the onion and carrots and sauteed them til they were soft. If I were to make this again, I would omit the celery, and maybe use sliced mushrooms instead - I didn't much like the contrast of the celery and the almonds. I did, however, like the cornflake crumb coating. This is a great recipe for when you don't have much time in the kitchen. Thanks, KT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
After reading all the reviews (thank u), I made some changes for a 5 star recipe. Added chopped garlic to the celery/onion w/more butter, cheddar cheese to the mixture, toasted the almonds, and added dried cheddar onion rings for the topping. I made rice according to the directions on bag. My husband loved it & he doesn't care much for chicken/casserole's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I used brown rice. I think the rice soaked up most of the sauce, because it was very dry. I used french fried onions on top instead of corn flakes. The next day I served it and added another can of Cream of Chicken soup, and stired in the onion topping. It was better the second time around. I won't make it again. I used Miracle Whip instead of real mayo. Wonder if that would make a difference in flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
To Dry ... I wondered if the recipe had been misprinted and should have only used 2 cups cooked rice. I have used a similar recipe from you sight and the rice was considerably less, resulting in a moister finished product. This recipe needs to be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I found this receipe to be very rich, perhaps I used too much mayonnaise. However it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I read all the previous comments and took some of the same advice. I used a box of uncle bens rice mix(butter/herb) and cooked it in the microwave. I sauteed the onion and celery with butter and garlic(2 cloves) and instead of mayo I added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I also added 1/4 cup of milk. I used cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken. I cut up the chicken and cooked it in the same pan as the celery and onion but I added a bit of olive oil. Since the casserole bakes for 45 mins I did not cook the chicken very long in the skillet(5 mins or so) I topped the casserole with durkee fried onions instead of the potato chips/butter. It was soooo yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPENDUBEDEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
With modification I gave this a 5 but without it would probably only get a 2. I followed many reviewers advice and only used 2 cups cooked rice (I made instant). Next I used 2 tbsp. butter to saute the veggies, added garlic and fresh lemon juice and salt & pepper. Other than that everything else was the same. If you use all the rice in this recipe I would double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States