Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This recipe has been revised. The correct amount of rice is 2 cups uncooked rice. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I have been looking for years for this recipe. I grew up with this dish, and it is one of my favorites! I tweaked it a little to suit our tastes, and the results were amazing. Here's what I did: - shredded the chicken instead of chopping into cubes; - used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken; - used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream; - finely diced the celery and sauteed it until soft; - used the water that I poached the chicken breasts in to cook the rice; - added pepper to taste; - doubled the amount of corn flake topping; - baked casserole (without topping) for 30 minutes, then added the topping and baked for the final 15 minutes. Adding the topping in the last 15 minutes keeps the corn flakes from over-browning. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAN1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
this recipe was wonderful, i added a can of baby cob corn(drained)some sliced carrots and a little bit of grated cheddar cheese. I also toasted the almonds and for the topping i added some chow mein noodles. I just felt these additions gave it a little more color and a more oriental feeling. to date it is my most requested recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was fantastic. My 3 year old cleaned her plate. I halved the recipe, used cream of celery soup and ommited the celery. I baked it in a 2 qt. casserole. (I did not halve topping or soup). It was great!!!!! Great for covered dish suppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
YUM! My husband is picky when it comes to cassaroles (no cream of mushroom for him!) and we both LOVED this! I omitted the butter on the top (almost - I put 3 tiny specks) to save fat and no one noticed a thing. Highly reccommended for weeknight or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is hands down my favorite all recipes dish ... with a few alterations. I use sour cream instead of mayonnaise and roast garlic cream of mushroom as opposed to cream of chicken. You can bulk up the almonds and celery, too, for a more hearty dish. I've even made this with brown rice ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMITHH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very tasty and easy - works well to use rice and chicken prepared in advance. A bit bland, but may need a little something in the dressing (or just some salt and pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
With modification I gave this a 5 but without it would probably only get a 2. I followed many reviewers advice and only used 2 cups cooked rice (I made instant). Next I used 2 tbsp. butter to saute the veggies, added garlic and fresh lemon juice and salt & pepper. Other than that everything else was the same. If you use all the rice in this recipe I would double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Hot dish smells wonderful in the oven & perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
A great, "comforting" chicken casserole! We loved the almonds and the cornflakes on top for added texture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States