Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe was very good. I made a few minor changes based on previous reviews. I also used roasted garlic mushroom soup, toasted the almonds for more flavor, used Durkee onions in place of the cornflakes. I substituted 1/2 c. of sour cream in place of the mayo, but next time I'm going to try the mayo instead. I think it was slightly dry but the flavor was wonderful. Next time I will try the mayo or maybe a little chicken stock added. Also, don't forget to add the Durkee Onion rings just the last few minutes of cooking. I forgot and they got pretty charred! Great recipe, definitely a keeper and I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4XXBLESSED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
We enjoyed this very much! Although, I took the advice of some others and made some changes. I used cream of mushroom soup w/roasted garlic and french onions instead of corn flakes. I made it the night before and put it in the fridge. then added the onions before cooking. The ONLY complaint I have was that I used all of the same amounts of ingredients this recipe called for and I only had enough for an 8x8 pan. ?? Maybe my chicken breasts were smaller..? I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I really liked this recipe. My family thought it was okay, but didn't beg me to make it again. It was a little "greasy" but the taste overall was good and the different textures was very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was not very good at all!! Followed the recipe to a T and it was too dry and lacked flavor. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This casserole is delicious! I grew up with this dish and have been looking for the recipe for years. *One tip for making this dish even better is to prepare the casserole the night before (everything except the cornflake topping) and let it sit overnight in the fridge before you cook it. The flavors have a chance to mingle, and it really adds to the overall flavor of the end product. When you're ready to bake the casserole the nexy day, make the cornflake topping and add it just before you place it in the oven. Thanks for the recipe, K.T.! This is the perfect cold day comfort food. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
my husband loved this recipe as is. i m new at cooking anything w/o a microwave so i always follow the directions exactly. he enjoyed it so much he had me make it again the next night and invited some guys from work over to have some. i dont like it as much as my hubby, but i hate mayo, and since i knew it was in there i could taste it. but everyone else loved it as well. i ll be making this alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Excellent casserole. I added fresh mushrooms to it too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Delicious! My husband and I loved it. I've had a similar casserole before, but the almonds added a tasty touch to it. Didnt have corn flakes on hand, but substituted with Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Bland. Husband said it would "be alright for a Tuesday night meal." Added fresh ground black pepper as well as French tarragon in order to liven it up a bit. Also, used half mayo/half sour cream instead of all mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I should rated this recipe years ago. My first time using this receipe was after the Thanksgiving using leftover turkey. I've followed it without modifcations. I DO cheat and buy steamed rice from the local Chinese Restaurant though. It is divine and comforting all at once. Now it's become a tradition that I make this casserole the weekend after Thanksgiving. I think my family looks forward to this casserole as much as they look forward to Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEATRIZ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States