Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
After making a few adjustments I found this to be one of our favorite recipes in our home! To make a 9x13 pan, I add 2 1/2-3 cups of COOKED long-grain rice (we prefer Basmati rice), add carrots to the celery to make about 2 1/4 cups (the carrots add more flavor than the celery alone), no more than 1 cup mayo, DEFENITLY add 2 cans of cream of chicken and if the mixture seems to dry add some milk until it looks better, and instead of topping with plain cornflakes use Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds!!! The honey gives it an awesome added flavor, it seemed to be the flavor that was missing after I made it the first time word for word from the orginal recipe. Oh, and I only cooked it for 20-30 minutes until it was warm. HIGHLY Recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This recipe was very bland. Needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vicksburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was an ok recipe. It was dry and kind of tasteless. If I ever decide to make it again, I will add another can of cream of chicken soup and toast the almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I adjusted this recipe to 24 for our little towns pot luck supper and it was a big hit - not a grain of rice left. However I did have to add an extra can of cream of chicken soup and 1 cup of mayo to get the perfect creamy texture I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Can't put my finger on exactly was wrong, did it need ?garlic, ?black pepper, ?mushrooms, ?can of green chile peppers, ?artichokes. It was just okay but I imagine it would be a really good "tweaker". Tried this once again with sour cream, mayo, both types of soup plus added fresh mushrooms and shredded carrots and garlic to the saute mixture. Still just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very good. I didn't change a thing. My husband & I enjoyed this a lot. Anne B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Wow- this was a nice treat- very different from the usual casserole. I did make a few changes- instead of mayonnaise I used one 8oz block of cream cheese and added 1/2 cup of milk. I also sauteed the onion, celery, and chicken in white wine and butter before mixing it in with the rice. I also added peas and carrots to the mix to give it some extra veggies. Had to use a 9x13 pan instead of 8x8- this was a lot of food! The whole family loved it- we will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Try these modifications: 1. Prepare 2 cups of rice 2. Toast Almonds for more flavor 3. Saute two cloves garlic, diced green pepper, 2 cups celery, 1 cup onions and two chicken breasts cut into bite size peices 4. Combine with a can of water chesnuts and rice into a 9x13" pan 5. Layer prepared Couscous with Parmesan vice Corn Flakes as topping 6. Place into pre-heated oven at 350 for 30 minutes or until golden brown on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made this with what I had on hand - no almonds or cornflakes. I used half the amount of rice. I added chopped green pepper and carrots, to increase the amount of vegetables and make it more of a one-pot meal. I added some fresh chopped rosemary to the veggies and some grated parmesan cheese to the soup/mayo mixture. These added a lot to the overall flavor. Since I had no cornflakes, I made breadcrumbs by whirling a crust of bread in the food processor with some more parmesan cheese. Instead of feeding 12, cutting back on the rice and adding more veggies meant it fed four easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I love this casserole!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the cornflake topping. Instead, I topped the casserole off with prepared Pepperidge Farm (Herb Seasoned) Stuffing. (Add 1 1/4 c boiling water and 2-3 tbl of butter to 4 cups stuffing mix.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States