Almond Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Yum! This is a good dish. It has a unique flavor that we liked. (Although be aware that prep time is longer than the 30 min. Cooking, chopping and assembling all the ingredients took me at least 45 min.) I made this recipe the first time, with the mayo and soup, as written. I only had 1/4cup of almonds and since my family does not like celery a lot I only added 1/2 cup minced celery with 1/4 cup minced carrots. I added some "nature's season", to the soup mix to add more flavor, since others said it needed something. The rice turned out moist and the mayo gave it an almost buttery flavor, although it still needed a little something extra. The second time I added 1/2c. mayo and 1/2c. sour cream, as others suggest. The final result was not as good! We did not enjoy it nearly as well. It took away that unique flavor. Also, I know others are adding extra soup to make it more creamy, but this recipe isn't meant to be a creamy, soupy consistency. This changes the recipe too much; to something different. I still want to add a little more spice in the future. Thanks for this good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I made it as written; my seven year old asked for thirds. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I followed some of the other suggestions and added carrots, slightly less mayo and 1/2 cup of sour crean as well as milk. I also substituted Honey Bunches of Oats with almonds instead of cornflake crumbs. Although I liked the taste, family wasn't too crazy about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was just ok, I'm not sure I would make it again. Hubby didn't care for it because of the celery and almonds, and I thought it was a decent base but a little bland. I had to cut way back on the rice because it seemed like too much. Good texture however, and a nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
i absolutely love this recipe! i even feed it to my relatives who are picky and they love it! but i do one thing differently... i add a can of water chestnuts (i sliver them before adding to the mixture). makes for an interesting texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. I followed the recipe except I did add 2 cans of cream of chicken soup as as well adding some carrots to the celery (thanks for the suggestion!), and instead of the cornflakes, I used crushed ritz crackers and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My husband found this too bland to eat, but as I had a cold and had completely lost my sense of taste and smell, I had the challenge of eating it all myself throughout the week. It had great texture though, which is important when you don't have flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNCHBOX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I have made this several times and it is always a hit especially with my husband. Also very tasty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was ok, if I make it again I'll definitely make some changes. As it was, I followed some previous reviewers' advice and doubled the soup and added more sour cream than mayo. It also used brown rice and bulked up the almonds and celery. I think it needs a little more in the way of seasoning, and I can't imagine it coming out right with only one can of soup. Also, i think I might try sliced sauteed mushrooms next time - and possibly as other reviewers mentioned I might try toasting the almonds to add to the flavor. It was a good base for a casserole, but could definitely use some tweeking based on personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a classic that I modified slightly from others' suggestions. I replaced mayo with sour cream and put Stovetop stuffing on top. I also used an entire onion and added garlic to the chicken. It's even better reheated a day or 2 later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States