Almond Buttercrunch Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
Wow! This is the recipe I've been looking for! The brown sugar makes it SO YUMMY. I'll be making this again for Christmas gifts. I've already received rave-reviews and it is just delicious. Thank you, Janis. This one is certainly a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
This recipe was so good and you only needed 4 ingredients. I'll be making this again and again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Although I finished the candy at 10:30pm, the top layer of choc. was still gooey at 1:50am. The brown sugar and butter smelled like it was burning while I tried to get it to 300deg., But except for the gooey choc., it is a good tasting candy. My hubby says it is slightly bitter but good. I'll try it again another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAINEYDAYGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
December 19, 2012: Over the years of making this candy, I have simplified everything. No longer do I put chocolate on the bottom. I now use 3 cups of toasted nuts & this year I used a combo of cashews, almonds & pecans. In past years, I've used white chocolate & cashews, which has become a family favorite. This year, I used Lindt 90% Dark Chocolate Bars. After I poured the hot nut filled toffee out on a parchement paper lined cookie sheet, I laid the bars down on top & they melted like butter. Next I melted Lindt White Coconut Chocolate & flung it over the dark, melted chocolate. I used a tooth pick to score back & forth across the chocolate, which made a beautiful pattern. The less sweet dark chocolate pared well with the toffee, which is plenty sweet enough & this creation is yet another favorite of mine. The possibilities are endless! Enjoy & have fun being creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Used it in a cookie exchange and everyone loved it. Going to make it for my mom and brother next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Thank you so much Janis! I carefully read your tips and everything went smoothly. I thought "that's it?!?" at the end of it all. Was it ever easy, and quick! I roasted roughly chopped almonds in a pot on a medium to low heat, I found this brought out the flavor of the almonds and enhanced the Almond Roca. My only question is, how do you score the Almond Roca so that the pieces are uniform and appear attractive when presenting them as gifts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Hi Mountain Ash...I'm the one who submitted this recipe. Yes, you can score the candy while it's still hot so that you can break it apart into even pieces. Use parchement paper so you can pull it out of the pan after it's completely cooled. You have to work fast and cut through it while it's still good and hot...but it can be done. I've done this myself, but I've gotten lazy and just prefer to break it apart. I saw a chopping utensil a few days ago that would work well for scoring the candy. It cuts in a rocking motion, side to side. I found it at Harris-Gottschalks. Hope this helps you out. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Wow, Janis! What a great recipe! Absolutely delicious, and addictive. Coupled with the recipe for Saltine Toffee Cookies from AllRecipes, it made very decadent Christmas gifts. My sugar thermometer went kaput, and I had to guesstimate temperature, and I think I overcooked the mixture because it didn't end up crisp as I expected it to. No matter - it was still superb. One idea which would make it even more to my taste would be to roast the almonds first. I reckon the smokiness of the roasted almonds would add complexity to this, as well as cut some of the sweetness. Thanks for this, it's become an instant classic at my place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I've made this recipe over a dozen times and I'd like to share a few things I've learned. Temperature is critical anytime you work with sugar. The final consistency is almost 100% dependant on the temperature. At 245 you get caramel, at 310 you get toffee. I would not recommend making this without a candy thermometer. Use the thickest pot you can, to prevent scorching. Stir ocassionally until 300 and then not at all until 310. This reduces the time it takes to climb the last 10 degrees and reduces the chance of burning. Remove from heat at precisely 310-do it fast and pour it fast, trust me on that. I don't add the almonds, I like the skor bar quality of the candy without them, and I don't use the bottom layer of chocolate on the pan, I never get good adhesion, it falls off when you try to eat it. I only put chocolate on the top. When the candy hardens enough that your finger only makes a small dent in the top add the chips, give them a minute or 2 to melt and then spread with a knife or the back of a spoon. My chocolate has always stuck when doing it this way. If you need it ready fast put in the fridge or freezer, otherwise it can take a while for the chocolate to harden. For breaking it into pieces I just slam mine against the counter and let it break into odd sized pieces. This candy is always met with excitement when I bring it to a gathering. I hope this helps anyone who wants to make this wonderfully addictive candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
The first time I made this, I cooked the candy to 310 degrees. In a second it went from smelling great to smelling burnt and separating. The second time and third time I made it, I buttered the sides of the pan and did not stir it at all until it reached 300 degrees, rather than 310 degrees. It was perfect and delicious both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States