Almond Buttercrunch Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
The toffee was great. The only problem I had was with the chocolate. It stuck to the pan better than the toffee and was a bit soft. Tasted great though.*** I made this a second time, with the following changes: did not add almonds to toffee, poured it onto foil (should have used wax paper), scored toffee w/pizza slicer when still hot, broke up the toffee and then dipped in in chocolate and then rolled it in food processed nuts. It's a lot less messy. Tastes great. Be careful to not over process the nuts, I thought sliced unblanched almonds looked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I used half pecans, half almonds and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very nice! Easy, quick and delicious. Made a batch for my husband to take to work for the guys. It was perfect. Kids are excited that this is a new Christmas Candy that they can look forward to. I'm not a seasoned candy maker so I followed the suggestions of a previous reviewer and buttered the sides of my sauce pan so that I could leave it untouched until it reached 300 degrees. I had success the first go. Thanks Janis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These didn't turn out at all for me. I'm guessing my candy thermometer is off. I'm sticking with an easier recipe that I use that doesn't require a candy thermometer ... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Very good! I toast the nuts and also have used toasted coconut. Many ways to give this buttercrunch a twist.Use White choc. or other nuts toasted sesame seeds.Try grinding nuts to just about a powder and dust the top layer of choc. with it. Let your mind and taste buds wander. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Simple and easy to make. Candy tasted good but was not crunchy enough for me. It was too soft and not like the real almond roca. I followed the instructions exactly and even used some of the tips from other reviewers. Ane suggestions on how to make it "buttercrunch"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was my family's favorite new Christmas candy this year. I would recommend using a candy thermometer, as the right heat is critical for cohesiveness to the other ingredient layers. Very simple prep. Family gobbled it up and wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Followed direction to a tee and it was a flop. First chips would not melt, then the end resault was too soft. Not sure what went wrong. It did not harden at all.Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This is so easy, yet everyone just raves about it. I will definetly make this for Christmas and give as gifts! Thank you Janis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Update to my previous review: Use the nonstick foil in the bottom of the pan you are using for the chocolate. I find after spreading the warm chocolate put in the fridge to cool and harden while cooking the toffee. I have much better results with the non stick foil vs the wax paper which tends to leave residue. And an A++ to the pizza cutter idea! Awesome recipe. My 2nd year for xmas gifting and my friends can't get enough of it. I find that using a candy thermometer that attaches to the side of the pan is helpful in candy making. Also, I've cut recipe in 1/2 by using 1 1/3 packed cups of Brown sugar and halving everything else. I've also found putting it into the fridge for 3 hours is really helpful. Plus use very good chocolate to make it special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINBH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States