Almond Buttercrunch Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Thanks for sharing this it just might help me win 1st in the regional bake of for 4-h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I'm not very experienced at making candy so I was nervous going into this, but it was super easy! So simple, I can't believe how few ingredients makes something so good! Tastes every bit as good if not better than store bought almond roca. I used half real butter and half smart balance butter and it turned out beautifully. I also used a bit more whole almonds and will probably use even more almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Based on my experience, white sugar makes a good crunchy caramel than brown sugar. So I used white sugar and surely the candy was really crunchy. But next time i would reduce the caramel to half as I think the amount as is is too much, it made the candy too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
A little friendly advice. Instead of worrying about the chocolate on the bottom hold off on that. Just grease your pan real good. Follow directions to make candy. btw you can also make this with white sugar as well. Cook to the the point it's toffee. Now here come the slight changes... 1. pour candy into greased pan. Cover with chocolates ( Try Ghirardelli chips ) spread them as they melt. Take chopped ( processor is best ) nuts almost to the point of powder and spinkle on melting chocolate. Cover with tin foil. Sit on counter or put in fridge. When it's hard take tin foil off. Turn pan upside down and remove the entire slab of yummy candy. Place candy back in pan still all in one piece with the side with no chocolate now on top. Melt additional chocolate chips in microwave. Pour on top of candy smooth out add the chopped / powdered almonds and cover back up and put back in fridge. I promise your chocolate will not come off on either side doing it this way. You know the routine after that. Wait for it to get hard and then break that yummy all up in bite size servings. Note: If you ever enjoyed the cans of Camp Fire Girls Almond Roca this is almost identical with the powdered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Made this for Christmas gifts. Brought some to work and it was a big hit. As some of the other reviews suggested, I'll omit the chocolate on the bottom of the pan the next time I make it. It just didn't stick to the candy and ended up staying in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss V
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Make sure you grease your cookie sheet well. After the candy was set, I had to use a metal spatula to remove it from the cookie sheet - it came off well. I keep it in the refrigerator and by the second day it was perfect. I did not use the last bit of almonds at the end of the recipe either. You do need to let it sit on the stove with a mild boil for a bit before the 'syrup' finally beads up in the cold water. Love this candy - tastes like I spent a lot of money on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I think I stirred too much because I couldn't get my toffee up to 310. I stopped at 280 to prevent scorching and it is still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This received rave reviews from everyone who tried it. It wasn't easy though, my candy thermometer isn't very good, so I tested using cold water. I got trigger happy with my first batch and removed it too soon, so it never hardened and ended up like really sweet fudge. Second try I forced myself to let it go a bit longer and it turned out perfectly. I, like others, didn't put a layer of chocolate on the bottom, and instead of milk chocolate, I broke up pieces of Hershey's Special Dark chocolate bars (2).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I wish mine had turned out better. It seems like too much butter, and I used dark brown sugar, a mistake. Wish the recipe has specified light brown sugar, or white. It is hardening up now and tastes OK, but not nearly as good as my previous recipe from my old Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe is PERFECTLY FANTASTIC!! I have been using this website for years making recipes and have never felt the desire to comment. Thanks so much for this one, it is truly a pleasure to make....and then eating it-delicious! I had all my metal cookie sheets dirty so I used my stoneware, needless to say I had to line it. That was the only change made only because I wasn't properly prepared. The melting of the chocolate in the oven is genius. One less bowl to wash and every last drop of the chocolate is in the candy. I have been baking since I was a little girl and this recipe inspired me once again to keep on baking. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States