Almond Buttercrunch Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Wonderful!!! I made this for my co-workers, family and a home for people with disabilities around the Christmas holiday. Everyone loved it! Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMERS1104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My husband loves this, I scored it with a pizza cutter. Also added almonds, just before pouring in pan that I lightly buttered.Then I put one bag of chips on top of hot toffee, let set for about 2 minutes or until spreadable.Top with almonds and voila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I think the bottom layer of chocolate is a little redundant (I know, "crazy woman"!) but it didn't stick to the candy very well and mostly stayed in the bottom of the pan. Other than that, this recipe was sooo good. Oh, I toasted the almonds and that made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Firth, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Love this candy recipe. Easy for new cooks too, and great Christmas treats. I learned from my mother, who learned from her mother how to make candy. They were experts. Here's what I know: Always use a wooden spoon, why? Metal spoons get hot and add extra heat that can distort the why the candy cooks. Only stir once and awhile and DO NOT scrape the upper sides of the pan. Sugar sticks to the upper sides of the pan and actually crystalizes and burns (you don't see this process taking place and that's okay as long as you don't scrape it down into your candy). So if you accidentally scrape the upper sides, you get that crystalized taste and burned too. Yes, I agree with RainyDayGirl reviewer; follow her advice about stirring. Mom used to say, once it's burned toss it, there's no way to fix it. Have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This has to be, by far one of the best (and easiest) toffee recipies. Every Christmas season my Mom used to buy me this super expensive toffee from a local boutique, complete with a french linen bow and it melted in your mouth (the toffee not the bow!). I've found that making this recipe and following the cooking directions produced similar, if not better tasting toffee and less expensive! After letting my Mother in law try some, she told me I should open up a sweet shop! The only part I did differently for this recipie was to crush the almonds to very small bits, which ended up needing more almonds to coincide with the measurements you've provided. Thank you for this recipe and my family thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOELLER67
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My first attempt at this recipe flopped -I had grainy toffee which had the consistency of fudge - tasted good but it just wasn't toffee. I tried again and Voila! I was able to make wonderful toffee. Here are my tips: most importantly TEST your candy thermometer! If you get 212 degrees in boiling water then you know it's accurate (mine was 10 degrees off!) Also, the tip shouldn't be touching the bottom of the pan but somewhere in the middle of the syrup. I used a Silpat silicone baking mat instead of greasing the pan and it worked wonderfully. No sticking at all. I didn't stir as much the 2nd time since someone said that allows the candy to heat up very quickly at the end and scorch. I also used a wire whisk instead of a wooden spoon that I used the first time. Lastly, I made one batch without the bottom chocolate layer and almonds only on top of the top chocolate layer and broke the toffee up like brittle – a little less expensive and still tastes good! Another batch I scored with a knife and broke up into squares when it cooled - also worked great. I used Ghiradelli chips and they melted beautifully, but when I used Hershey chips they did not so I'd recommend using a good quality chocolate if you can. I'm proudly going to take my re-worked batches to a cookie exchange today and can't wait to hear what everyone thinks! Oh, and another reviewer explained how to make a half batch and it worked perfectly too! (use 1 1/3 c packed brown sugar and halve the other ingr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This candy is so wonderful. Everyone begs for it and wants the recipe. Nobody can believe how simple it is with just 4 ingredients. I make 2 batches at Christmas and can't keep it around. For those of you who have had trouble, you must use a candy thermometer and make sure it is a good one. Take it off the range immediately at 310 or it will taste burnt. I put all the almonds in the toffee mixture (none on top - just my personal preferance) right when I take it off the heat, stir quickly and pour over the milk chocolate. Never failed! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is wonderful, I make a big pan for my family every year. Note about the temperature ~ I always stop at 300 degrees. It might just be my candy thermometer though. This is also a great Valentine's Day treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This candy is wonderful, and not at all hard to make if you have any experience with candy making. Everyone I shared it with raved over it - it tastes like Skor candy bar except that it doesn't break your teeth to bite into it! I found that cutting the candy into squares while it was warm worked well. Then I could easily break it along the perforations when it was completely cool and still have nice, intact little squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I was so disappointed that the toffee burned as soon as it reached 300degrees. The consistency was perfect but it had a burnt aftertaste. I would attempt this recipe again but I would pull it off the heat before it reaches 300. I am open to any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States