Almond Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This is a really good icing!!! It is good on all kinds of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
I didn't really use shortening.. I just cut it out of the recipe and used whipping cream instead of milk.. it worked really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Not only good on cookies, but great on special occasion cakes. Make it al little stiff and you can create decorative flowers and borders with this recipe. Linda Carver-Hereford,Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I wasn't too crazy about this...it tasted too "buttery" and I wonder how healthy it can be with that much shortening and butter. And it didn't harden for cookies so they all smeared when I tried to stack them and put them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Absolutely wonderful! Made d.shephard's "my favorite sugar cookies" and frosted with this frosting, have given this recipe along with the sugar cookies, for the 7th time now. This is a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is delicious, but do not expect it to harden on the cookies! It remains the consistency of a light fluffy cake icing. Colors well, and is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA  IN E TN
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Just like my mom use to make! She always baked with no recipe, so I never got this recipe! Thanks for sharing, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
OMG - the best frosting and very easy to make. I could eat this with a spoon and not even worry about the cookie underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I have been using Wilton's recipe for icing since I took a class on cake decorating. The base of this recipe is similar, but adds flavor. The butter makes it creamier and the almond adds flavor so it doesn't taste too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I liked this recipe, I have used it several times. Although I made a few adjustments which came out way better. I used a stick of butter and a stick of criso butter flavored shortening.You would wanna beat the butter and shortening for at least 20 min. seems long but it's totally worth it. You won't taste that butter after taste! That's the main key. I used 8 cups of powdered sugar to make it thick but added more almond extract and a tsp. of vanilla extract so it wont be to sweet and lose itself in the sugar and focus on the main purpose of ALMOND BUTTER ICING!!!!! (Remember Beat the butter and shortening for 20 mins. it will taste way better! and if it's to thick for your taste and milk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ Hadassah ~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States