Almond Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used all butter. Shortening has a flavor that I can immediately taste in any recipe (same with cooking oils) What's wrong with good old butter? I whipped it with my whisk attachment until it was light and fluffy. This made the difference! The almond extract could be reduced just a smidge. You can always add more! Just a note about the 'drying' properties. It sets so that it isnt "messy" to the touch. It does get a dry top, but the body of it stays yummy and creamy. So, no, dont stack your sugar cookies...but I would use this recipe in a heartbeat for sugar cookie frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Just what I was looking for. Easy, with just enough flavor. I used it to frost a white cake for a birthday party. It made plenty for a two layer cake, and extra to dye for contrast piping. It would be even better for decorating if you sub half the shortening for butter. I didn't add as much extract to it, almond extract tends to overpower things really easily, so I just added to taste, about 3/4 tsp. I have a new go-to cake frosting. I can't imagine using this for cookies, though, it would smear badly. Thanks DeDe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great icing and makes a lot so cut it down as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This icing is amazing - creamy and tasty! I started using this recipe about 25 years ago when I did cake decorating. Now I use it on sugar cookies when we decorate cookies for the holidays. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The icing was delicious but didn't harden like sugar cookie icing should, they were very hard to store without messing up the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
okay, mostly tasted like butter. would rather stick to the other frosting recipe but use almond instead of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i changed this recipe to fit what i had on hand, i can't comment on the original (but it sounds good!)... i used 1/2c butter, 1/2pkg cream cheese, 1/2 tsp almond, 1 tsp vanilla bean extract. mix together in blender (about 3c). add sugar, 1/2 cup at a time until you get the right consistency. i tried to add milk, but it gets grainy. sweet, with a mild almond flavor. sooo tasty! great on cake-like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I liked this recipe, I have used it several times. Although I made a few adjustments which came out way better. I used a stick of butter and a stick of criso butter flavored shortening.You would wanna beat the butter and shortening for at least 20 min. seems long but it's totally worth it. You won't taste that butter after taste! That's the main key. I used 8 cups of powdered sugar to make it thick but added more almond extract and a tsp. of vanilla extract so it wont be to sweet and lose itself in the sugar and focus on the main purpose of ALMOND BUTTER ICING!!!!! (Remember Beat the butter and shortening for 20 mins. it will taste way better! and if it's to thick for your taste and milk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ Hadassah ~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I have been using Wilton's recipe for icing since I took a class on cake decorating. The base of this recipe is similar, but adds flavor. The butter makes it creamier and the almond adds flavor so it doesn't taste too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
OMG - the best frosting and very easy to make. I could eat this with a spoon and not even worry about the cookie underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States