Almond Butter Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great flavor! I read where someone complained about it not hardening up, but that is nothing a little refigeration can't fix. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
to make any frosting harden up some, you can add meringue powder to your mixture. On the back of the can it tells how much to add to your frosting mixture. I use the powder alot when frosting cookies, they don't stick together then. You can also use it on cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is the very first frosting that I was able to make (using the instructions of course) that actually came out at the consistency I was looking for. Thanks. I think it it could handle a little more almond extract though. Thanks DeDe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I used a fourth of this recipe with only a stick of butter. I used 1/2 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla. It generously frosted 12 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used this recipe for cupcake frosting and it turned out GREAT! However, since I am not an almond fan, I substitued one tsp of vanilla in place of the almond extract and it really turned out well. As one of the other reviewers said, I can't really picture using it on cookies, as the consistency was perfect for cupcakes (or sheet cakes), but perhaps if you added more milk as you went along it would be easier to pipe onto cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Being an almond extract fan, I knew I was going to love the flavor of this icing. It is a little on the greasy side, and I would probably opt to reduce the shortening when I make it again. I used this to top golden cakes from this site, which also have almond extract, and the combination was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and it was amazing! Used this icing for Almond Shortbread I cookies and the combination was perfect! I'm still getting requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKJESSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Nice recipe. I too used less almond extract (1 tsp). I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and used all butter, except for 1/2 c of shortening. I iced buttersotched cupcakes with it and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Great "road map" of a buttercream recipe, easily manipulated to accomodate any and all of your buttercream needs whether it's for cookies, cupcakes, or decorating. Thicker, thinner, more butter, all shortening, play with this till you get it to suit you. In this case I reduced the almond flavor by half and it was just the perfect hint of almond. Overdo it and the flavor is unpleasant and overbearing. I wanted this frosing to pipe onto cupcakes so I nearly doubled the powdered sugar called for and addded half and half until I got the thicker consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States